HAWKEYE DOWNS NEWS RELEASE FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT: Mike Becker, Hawkeye Downs Race Promotions

(319)365-8656 or hawkeyedowns@gmail.com

OR

BRAD GRUPE, Communications Director/Webmaster

(319)331-7377 or <u>bradgrupe@mchsi.com</u>

MCGRATH POWERS TO SECOND STRAIGHT LATE MODEL WIN GOETTSCH NOTCHES WALL OF FAME NIGHT LEGENDS WIN

(CEDAR RAPIDS, IA 05/24/2013)- A new face joined a host of repeat winners in victory lane Friday night at Cedar Rapids' Hawkeye Downs Speedway. Hibu (formerly Yellowbook) presented heat and feature racing action in all six divisions of the HyVee/I-Wireless Championship Racing Series.

In addition, several new members were inducted into the Hawkeye Downs Wall of Fame Friday night. This year's inductees include Bill Barthelmes, Merle and Evy Gardemann, Walt and Judy Hickey, Al Miller, Ed Otten, John Schlemmer, Keith Siefken and Bill Stepanek. In addition, the Cedar Rapids Corvette Club, a group that has helped with inductions every year, was added to the Wall in a surprise announcement made during induction ceremonies.

In **Dublin City Pub Legends**, the early season bad luck continued for Bryce Bailey. He appeared to have the 30-lap feature race well in hand until five laps to go when mechanical problems forced him to drop out. That put Tim Goettsch on point with Kevin Korsmo, Dennis Diercks, Austin Kunert, and Alan Diercks close behind on the restart.

Korsmo made as run at Goettsch on the restart but couldn't hold the outside line while defending his position from Dennis Diercks. The final three laps saw the fron five running nearly nose to tail with Goettsch prevailing for the win. Korsmo maintained second with Dennis Diercks, Austin Kunert, and Alan Diercks completeing the top of the running order. Earlier in the program, Logan Mitchell of Palmyra, MO won the 6-lap Anderson Automotive Trophy Dash topping a six-car field.

The **Sunline Hornets** feature was marred by a nasty rollover by Jose DeJesus on lap twelve. DeJesus left the track in turn three and rolled at least four times before coming to rest right side up. He exited the car on his own, and was checked out by medical personnel.

Prior to that, Kurt Bohnsack had a sizable lead with Todd Ness his closest pursuer. Bohnsack took the lead from Dan Schmidt on lap three and steadily left the field behind until the rollover caution forced the restart.

Ness stayed within striking distance early in the restart but Bohnsack was able to widen his lead to a safe margin to secure the win. Ness finished second with Dan Schmidt, Jeff Dvorak, and Brad Schmidt running in the top five.

It was business as usual for Matt Petrzelka in **Barron Motor Supply Hobby Stocks**. Petrzelka went from last to first in one lap and dominated the balance of the race as he collected his third checkered flag in three tries. Matt Lacoursiere cruised to a second place finish with Jason Sherman and Bob McCorkle finishing in third and fourth.

After a "no-start" on the first attempt, the **Mountain Dew Sportsmen** feature saw Dave Ballstaedt lead the first two trips around the quarter-mile before Cory Houdek took command. By lap six, defending champ Dave McCalla pulled alongside Houdek and one lap later he took control of the race and cruised toward his second win of the season. Houdek crossed the stripe in second with Ben Glascock finishing third.

The **Miller Time Modifieds** saw the first repeat win of the season as Tim Plummer took top honors. After Jim Dixon and Craig Bender touched wheels on the opening lap, the field was restarted with Ryan Luedtke bolting into the early lead. An early three-car breakaway developed with Luedtke, Brian Gibson, and Tim Plummer leading the field.

By lap five, Plummer had pulled alongside Gibson and powered around to secure the spot. One lap later Plummer took the point while Gibson moved up to challenge Luedtke for second. By lap twelve, Gibson took second away from Luedtke. Over the remaining laps, Gibson put a bit of a dent in Plummers lead but couldn't draw much closer than a few car lengths.

Plummer picked up his second win of 2013 and was followed to the finish line by Gibson, Luetke, Craig Bender, and Jim Dixon.

Griffin McGrath picked up his second straight win in the thirty-lap **CarpetlandUSA Late Models** feature, taking the lead with 12 laps scored. Brad Osborn led the first eleven circuits with Jay Jaspers right on his tail before McGrath put both of them behind one lap later. That set up a four-car nose-to-tail battle for the second slot as McGrath pulled away.

Osborn, Jaspers, Tim Plummer, and Thor Anderson ran a spirited battle for second with Plummer winning the spot after several laps. Thor Anderson moved to third in his first outing of the season with Osborn and Jaspers ssettling for fourth and fifth.

Racing continues next Friday night, May 31 as Cassill Motors presents racing in all six divisions.

KEITH FLECK MEMORIAL WALL OF FAME NIGHT

Presented by Hibu (Formerly Yellowbook)

May 24, 2013

DUBLIN CITY PUB INEX LEGENDS

ANDERSON AUTOMOTIVE TROPHY DASH- (99M)Logan Mitchell, Palmyra, MO

HEAT 1- 1. (51)Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids; 2. (66) Dennis Diercks, Davenport; 3.(86)Kevin Korsmo, Atkins; 4.(01)Tim Goettsch, Davenport; 5.(74R)Matt Blake, Cedar Rapids; 6.(29k) Austin Kunert, Batavia, IL; 7.(43)Gary Dyer, Bettendorf; 8.(25) Cole O 'Brien, Cedar Rapids

HEAT 2.- 1. (64)Danny Lehmkuhl, Cedar Rapids; 2.(02)Jason Beauregard, Cedar Rapids; 3.(29x) Brian Tedeschi, Custer Park, IL; 4.(10)Mark Ironside, Swisher; 5. (99m)Logan Mitchell, Palmyra, MO; 6. (29)Caleb Adrian, Davenport; 7.(37) Jordan Walker, Cedar Rapids DNS-(95)Alan Diercks, Bettendorf

FEATURE (30 laps) 1. Goettsch 2. Korsmo 3. D. Diercks 4.Kunert 5.A. Diercks 6.Lehmkuhl 7.Beauregard 8.Mitchell 9. Blake 10. Walker 11.Ironside 12. Adrian 13. Dyer 14. O'Brien 15. Bailey 16. Tedeschi

SUNLINE HORNETS

HEAT- 1. (4) Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City; 2.(6)Todd Ness, Cedar Rapids; 3.(9D)Dan Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 4.(8R) Jeff Dvorak, Cedar Rapids; 5. (24) Jose DeJesus, Cedar Rapids; 6. (7B) Brad Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 7.(14)Zach Hartman, Cedar Rapids; 8. (44)Troy Scott, Cedar Rapids; 9.(56)Dan Hartman, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Bohnsack 2.Ness 3.D. Schmidt 4.Dvorak 5.B. Schmidt 6.Z. Hartman 7. Scott 8. D. Hartman 9. DeJesus

BARRON MOTOR SUPPLY HOBBY STOCKS

HEAT- 1. (22) Matt Petrzelka, Norway; 2.(2)Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 3.(54)Jason Sherman, Marengo; 4.(2x) Bob McCorkle, Alburnett DNS -(57)Malena Betzer, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (10 laps) 1. Petrzelka 2.Lacoursiere 3.Sherman 4.McCorkle DNS- Betzer

MOUNTAIN DEW SPORTSMEN

HEAT- 1. (19) Cory Houdek, Marion; 2.(83)Ben Glascock, Indianola; 3.(88) Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 4. (3)Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 5.(9)Dave Ballsteadt, Marion

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. McCalla 2. Houdek 3. Glascock 4. Hanson 5. Ballstaedt

MILLER TIME MODIFIEDS

HEAT- 1. (66) Tim Plummer, Norway; 2.(8)Ryan Luedtke, Norway; 3.(2)Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids; 4.(26) Jim Dixon, Cedar Rapids; 5. (5) Ed O'Brien, Cedar Rapids 6. (17) Brian Gibson, Walford

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Plummer 2. Gibson 3. Luedtke 4. Bender 5. Dixon 6. O'Brien

CARPETLAND USA LATE MODELS

HEAT- 1. (64)Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids; 2.(72)Brad Osborn, Janesville; 3.(95) Jay Jaspers, Steamboat Rock; 4.(74)Tim Plummer, Norway; 5.(4)Thor Anderson, Bonduraunt; 6.(52)Brian Allen, Hiawatha; 7.(76)Chad Siems, Shellsburg; 8.(43) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE(30 laps) 1. McGrath 2. Plummer 3. Anderson 4. Jaspers 5. Osborn 6. Allen 7. C. Siems 8. S. Siems