KUNERT, HENTRICH, BALLARD AMONG HOCHSTETLER TOWING NIGHT WINNERS

(Cedar Rapids, IA 07/11/2014)—After a June 27 rainout and a night off for the July 4 holiday, the Hy-Vee Racing Series returned to action Friday night at Hawkeye Downs Speedway. Hochstetler Towing, the 'Official Towing Service Provider of Hawkeye Downs", presented action in all six divisions.

In addition to racing, it was a full night in front of the grandstands as Hochstetler Towing presented their annual bike giveaway. Fourteen lucky kids went home with brand new bikes.

The Dodge Street Tire Lil' Racer Car Club also staged "the World's Largest Candy Dash on an Asphalt Track in Iowa", with 839 pounds of candy donated by drivers, race teams, and fans.

The Hawkeye Downs Wall of Fame Committee also re-introduced this year's Wall of Fame class with some recipients able to return after the original date for inductions, June 27 was rained out. This years class included Lee Behrens, Shane Carson, Merv Chandler, Virgil Dietz, Dan Pospishil and Jim Pospishil.

On the track, after being boxed in for the better part of twelve laps, Sunline Hornets point leader Kurt Bohnsack got clear of the log jam and motored into the lead. Troy Scott had built a fairly sizable early lead, holding off CJ Van Horn and Brad Schmidt before building a bit of a cushion. One Bohnsack cleared the cars he cruised to his 7th win of the season. Troy Scott finished second, and Brad Schmidt was third.

Greg Hentrich picked up his second win of 2014 in the Mountain Dew Sportsmen after Jim Hanson and Cory Houdek spun while battling for the lead. Hanson had led much of the race up to lap 10 when Houdek pulled alongside and the pair battled side-by-side for three laps before they spun, bringing out caution. The field was reset with Hentrich in the top spot and Johnny Spaw and Dave Ballstaedt falling in behind. Hentrich maintained the spot to the checkered flag with Spaw finishing second in Hentrich's back-up car. Jim Hanson rallied from the spin to finish third.

The Miller Tim Modifieds returned to the track for the first time in several weeks. They had been scheduled for the return on June 27 but weather scrubbed the night's program. Despite the layoff, Jake Griffin didn't skip a beat in picking up his second win of the season. Griffin started outside the front row, quickly disposed of early leader Ryan Luedtke, and then cruised to the win. Mike Schulte was the closest pursuer, moving into the second slot on lap four. Schulte maintained second while Luedtke was third. The Barron Motor Supply Hobby Stock feature was a wild affair with the field running fivewide headed into turn one on the second lap. The cars running in that formation escaped trouble but a couple cars behind got together bringing out the first of several cautions. Once the race restarted Adam Petrzelka held the top spot but the lead was short-lived as caution waved again for another spin. On the subsequent restart, eventual winner Nathan Ballard wasted little time in taking the point and then found himself holding off Jim Hanson. With seven laps to go, Hanson made contact with Ballard. Ballard maintained the top spot with Hanson sent to the rear. When racing resumed Ballard had all he could handle from Matt Petrzelka but as the final laps ticked off he was able to open up a bit of a lead. Petrzelka finished second while Jim Hanson worked back through the pack to finish third. The win was the fourth of the season for Ballard.

Austin Kunert took the top podium spot in a very entertaining Dublin City Pub Legends feature after wrestling the lead from Kevin Korsmo with ten laps to go. Dennis Diercks and Cole O'Brien each took a turn as leader early in the race before Korsmo took command on lap eight. Korsmo had his hands full with Kunert for several laps before Kunert used an inside move to secure the point. Korsmo maintained second and Cole O'Brien finished off a strong run by crossing the stripe in third. The win by Kunert, who is in ninth place in INEX Legends Young Lions Division national points, was his third of the season at Hawkeye Downs.

Finally, Griffin McGrath scored his second win of the season in Carpetland USA Late Models after taking the lead from Brian Gibson on lap six. Tim Plummer followed McGrath around Gibson. The trio ran in that order for the balance of the race. While McGrath did open up a four car length lead over Plummer, that lead diminished over the final ten laps. Plummer had closed to one car length with four laps remaining but caution on the next lap slowed the momentum and on the restart McGrath was able to once again open a safe margin. Gibson finished third.

Racing resumes next Friday night, July 18 when First Supply present racing in all divisions of the Hy-Vee Racing Series.

HAWKEYE DOWNS SPEEDWAY

HY-VEE RACING SERIES

Hochstetler Towing Night

July 11, 2014

SUNLINE HORNETS

HEAT 1.- 1. (54) CJ VanHorn, Marion; 2. (16)Todd Ness, Cedar Rapids: 3. (7b) Brad Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 4. (44) Troy Scott, Cedar Rapids; 5. (4) Kurt Bohnsack, Ely; 6. (321) Drew Nickell, Cedar Rapids; 7. (1a) TJ Aimers, Cedar Rapids; DNS-(1) Kaden Reynolds, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (15 laps) 1. Bohnsack 2.Scott 3. Ness 4. VanHorn 5. Schmidt 6. Nickell 7. Aimers 8. Reynolds

MOUNTAIN DEW SPORTSMEN

HEAT- 1. (88) Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 2. (9) Dave Ballstaedt, Marion; 3. (7) John Johnston, Victor; 4. (36) Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids; 5. (19) Cory Houdek, Marion; 6. (35) Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha; 7. (9d) Dan Schmidt, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (15 laps) 1. Hentrich 2.Spaw 3. Hanson 4.Ballstaedt 5. Houdek 6. Johnston 7. Schmidt

MILLER TIME MODIFIEDS

HEAT- 1. (66) Jake Griffin, Quincy, IL; 2. (99) Mike Schulte, Norway; 3.(8) Ryan Luedtke, Norway; 4. (2) Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids; 5. (49) Steve Lindell, Marion

FEATURE (15 laps) 1.Griffin 2. Schulte 3. Luedtke 4. Bender 5. Lindell

BARRON MOTOR SUPPLY HOBBY STOCKS

HEAT 1- 1. (29) Nathan Ballard, Marengo; 2. (22) Matt Petrzelka, Norway; 3. (2) Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 4. (57) Malena Clement, Cedar Rapids; DNS- Brandon Herb, Marion

HEAT 2-1. (77) Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 2. (48) Adam Petrzelka, Norway; 3. (14j) Jacob Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 4. (12k) Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 5. (1) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 6. (4) Kurt Bohnsack, Ely; 7. (54) Jason Sherman, Marengo

FEATURE (15 laps) 1. Ballard 2. M. Petrzelka 3.Hanson 4. K. Floyd 5.Bohnsack 6.A. Petrzelka 7. Sherman 8. J. Floyd 9.Lacoursiere 10. Clement 11. Siems 12. Herb

DUBLIN CITY PUB INEX LEGENDS

HEAT 1- 1. (00) Brody Willett, Alburnett; 2.(88) Matt Blake, Cedar Rapids; 3.(51) Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids; 4. (10) Mark Ironside, Swisher; 5. (43) Gary Dyer, Blue Grass

HEAT 2.- 1. (86) Kevin Korsmo, Atkins; 2. (29) Austin Kunert, Batavia, IL; 3. (66) Dennis Diercks, Eldridge; 4. (25) Cole O'Brien, Cedar Rapids; DNS-(95) Al Diercks, Davenport

FEATURE (25 laps) 1. Kunert 2. Korsmo 3. Willett 4. O'Brien 5. Bailey 6. Ironside 7. Blake 8. D. Diercks 9. A. Diercks 10. Dyer

CARPETLAND USA LATE MODELS

HEAT 1-1. (74) Tim Plummer, Norway; 2. (43) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 3. (72) Brad Osborn, Janesville; 4. (17) Brian Gibson, Walford; 5. (64) Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids; 6. (52) Brian Allen, Hiawatha; 7. (5) Tom Rayl, Mitchellville; 8. (76) Chad Siems, Shellsburg

FEATURE (25 laps) 1. McGrath 2. Plummer 3. Gibson 4. Osborn 5. Allen 6. Rayl 7. S. Siems 8. C. Siems