## LACOURSIERE STOPS PETRZELKA'S WIN STREAK

#### (Cedar Rapids, IA 07/12/2013)

All six divisions of the HyVee/I-Wireless Championship Series were in action Friday night, July 12 as fans were treated to some great racing and Free Ice Cream courtesy of the Lil'Racer Car Club and their sponsors.

In Barron Motor Supply Hobby Stocks, Matt LaCoursiere picked up his first feature win of the year and in the process ended Matt Petrzelka's eight-race win streak. LaCousiere started one row ahead of Petrzelka and found a clearer path to the front as Petrzelka got stuck behind other cars battling for position. Kandi Floyd chased LaCoursiere for the entire race but couldn't draw close enough to challenge. Petrzelka continued to look for a way around cars and couldn't make his car stick in the far outside groove and ran out of laps and time.

Floyd finished second behind LaCoursiere with Jason Sherman crossing the stripe in third. Sherman would later be disqualified during post-race inspection which advanced Petrzelka to the third finishing spot.

With a couple drivers taking the week off in Mountain Dew Sportsmen, there wasn't too much resistance for Dave McCalla to earn his 7<sup>th</sup> victory lane appearance for the season. Dave Ballstaedt led the opening eight laps with Cory Houdek right behind before McCalla and Houdek pulled alongside Ballstaedt and McCalla powered his way through to the lead. Houdek held second until the halfway mark when Ben Glascock took command of the second slot forcing Houdek to settle for third.

The Dublin City Pub Legends feature saw an uncharacteristic high number of cautions with the yellow flag waving at least six times over the thirty-lap race. Bryce Bailey led the first half of the race but a caution on the next lap reset the field and Kevin Korsmo got a great start, taking the lead on lap sixteen. That lead was short-lived as eventual race winner Tim Goettsch took the lead one lap later. Goettsch had his hands full of Kyle Diercks over the last five laps but he was able to hold him off to the checkered flag. Diercks was second, Dennis Diercks was third, and also of note former Iowa Hawkeye Wrestler Mark Ironside finished fourth. Craig Bender led the first five circuits in Miller Time Modifieds before Brian Gibson and Tim Plummer moved in to challenge as they battled for second. Gibson nearly spun in the heat of that battle but was able to collect his ride and continue. On lap seven Plummer took the lead from bender and it was "pass in the songbooks" time as Plummer cruised to his 7<sup>th</sup> win of the season. Bender finished second and Mike Schulte was third.

In Sunline Hornets, the apparent winner and point leader Todd Ness didn't pass postrace inspection which put the winner's hardware in the hands of Kurt Bohnsack. The win was the 4<sup>th</sup> of the year for Bohnsack and in being awarded the win he also took control of the points race. Bohnsack had chased Ness the entire race with Dan Schmidt running third. Jose DeJesus finished fourth and Brad Schmidt was fifth.

Finally, in Carpetland USA Late Models, Jay Jaspers led the first seven laps before Griffin McGrath pulled alongside and powered by. Point leader Tim Plummer moved from third to second on lap ten and pursued McGrath over the balance of the race but could draw no closer than a few car lengths as the laps ticked off the board. Jaspers finished third behind Plummer with Scott Siems fourth and Brad Osborn fifth.

Racing resumes Friday night July 19 for First Supply night. The event is also a regional points qualifier for the INEX Legends Series and drivers from six states are expected to join the Dublin City Pub Legends field. All Hy Vee/I-Wireless Championship Series divisions will be in action

### HAWKEYE DOWNS SPEEDWAY RESULTS

# Hy Vee/I-Wireless Championship Series

## JULY 12, 2013

### BARRON MOTOR SUPPLY HOBBY STOCKS

HEAT- 1. (12k) Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 2. (12)Brandon Herb, Marion; 3.(22) Matt Petrzelka, Norway; 4. (54) Jason Sherman, Marengo; 5. (12j)Jeremy Robbins, Cedar Rapids; 6. (14j) Jacob Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 7. (2x) Rob McCorckle, Cedar Rapids; 8. Brian Bries, Norway

FEATURE (10 laps) 1.(2) Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 2. Kandi Floyd 3.Petrzelka 4.Jacob Floyd 5.Robbins 6.Bries 7. McCorckle 8. Herb DQ- Sherman

#### MOUNTAIN DEW SPORTSMEN

HEAT- 1. (3) Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 2. (9) Dave Ballsteadt, Marion; 3. (83) Ben Glascock, Indianola; 4. (19) Cory Houdek, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. McCalla 2. Glascock 3. Houdek 4. Ballstaedt

#### **DUBLIN CITY PUB LEGENDS**

ANDERSON AUTOMOTIVE TROPHY DASH- Johnny Kringas, Homer Glen, IL

HEAT 1- 1. (99m) Logan Mitchell, Palmyra, MO; 2.(30) Noah Cornman, Orlando, FL; 3. (43) Kyle Diercks, Eldridge; 4. (02) Jason Beauregard, Cedar Rapids; 5. (32) Rod McGlothlen, Oskaloosa; 6. (25) Cole O'Brien, Cedar Rapids; 7. (77) Warren Ropp, Kalona

HEAT 2-1. (66) Dennis Diercks, Eldridge; 2. (51) Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids; 3. (01) Tim Goettsch, Davenport; 4. (74R) Matt Blake, Cedar Rapids; 5. (37) Danny Lehmkuhl, Cedar Rapids; 6. (10) Mark Ironside, Swisher; 7. (95) Gary Dyer, Bettendorf; 8. (86) Kevin Korsmo, Atkins; 9.(10k) Johnny Kringas, Homer Glen, IL

FEATURE (30 laps) 1. Goettesch 2. Kyle Diercks 3. Dennis Diercks 4. Ironside 5. Mitchell 6. Cornman 7. Ropp 8. Allen Diercks, Davenport 9. O'Brien 10. Kringas 11. Bailey 12. Blake 13. Lehmkuhl 14. Beauregard 15. McGlothlen 16. Korsmo

#### MILLER TIME MODIFIEDS

HEAT- 1. (66) Tim Plummer, Norway; 2. (2) Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids; 3. (99) Mike Schulte, Norway; 4. (8) Ryan Luedtke, Norway; 5. (17) Brian Gibson, Walford; 6. (5) Ed O'Brien, Cedar Rapids DNS- (26) James Dixon, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Plummer 2. Bender 3. Schulte 4. Luedtke 5. Gibson 6. O'Brien DNS- Dixon

#### **SUNLINE HORNETS**

HEAT - 1. (4) Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City 2. (9d) Dan Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 3. (6) Todd Ness, Cedar Rapids; 4. (24) Jose DeJesus, Cedar Rapids; 5. (7B) Brad Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 6. (44) Troy Scott, Cedar Rapids; 7. (54) CJ VanHorn, Marion

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Bohnsack 2. Dan Schmidt 3. DeJesus 4. Brad Schmidt 5. Scott 6. Van Horn DQ-Ness

#### CARPETLAND USA LATE MODELS

HEAT- 1.(95) Jay Jaspers, Steamboat Rock; 2. (64) Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids; 3. (74) Tim Plummer, Norway; 4. (43) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 5. (76) Chad Siems, Shellsburg; 6. (72) Brad Osborn, Janesville

FEATURE (30 laps) 1. McGrath 2. Plummer 3. Jaspers 4. Scott Siems 5. Osborn 6. Chad Siems