JACOB FLOYD PICKS UP FIRST CAREER FEATURE WIN IN HOBBY STOCKS

KEVIN KORSMO TOPS LEGENDS

(Cedar Rapids, IA 08092013)—First time winners joined repeat winners at Hawkeye Downs Speedway Friday night as the countdown toward Barron Motor Season Championships continues.

In the Barron Motor Supply Hobby Stock feature, Jacob Floyd took the lead from polesitter Jason Sherman on lap five and then held off Sherman to collect his first ever feature win. Point leader Matt Petrzelka appeared content to stay towards the back with his closest pursuer in the points chase not in the feature after suffering a breakdown in the heat.

Finishing in third behind Floyd and Sherman was Malena Betzer in her first appearance in several weeks.

In other HyVee/I-Wireless Championship Series action, Ben Glascock emerged as the leader from a three wide battle with Jim Hanson and point leader Dave McCalla on lap fifteen of the Mountain Dew Sportsmen feature and went on to pick up his third win of the season. Glascock squeezed into the lead after Hanson tried to run McCalla high which opened the door for Glascock to duck underneath the pair.

Hanson led most of the race and did surrender the lead briefly to McCalla with eight laps remaining but Hanson took the spot back on the next lap before the three-car battle developed. McCalla won the battle for second at the stripe and Handon finished third.

Kevin Korsmo posted his first win of the season in the Dublin City Pub Legends feature, holding off a determined Kyle Diercks over the last few laps to take the checkered flag. Dennis Diercks led much of the race which saw a three car battle for the lead between Dennis Diercks, Kyle Diercks, and Kevin Korsmo escalate to a four car battle with Tim Goettsch joining the fray on lap thirteen. The action settled down a bit at the halfway mark as Korsmo and kyle Diercks appeared to be the biggest challenge to Dennis Diercks. On lap eighteen Korsmo Korsmo finally squezzed by Dennis Diercks with Kyle Diercks in tow. A couple cautions slowed the action over the final ten laps but Korsmo was able to hold off Kyle Diercks, who settled for second. Tim Goettsch finished third, Austin Kunert was fourth, and Rod McGlothlen finished fifth.

About the only thing that slowed Tim Plummer down in the Miller Time Modifieds was a lap five caution after Brian Gibson and Jim Dixon tangled sending Dixon to the pits for a tire change. Ryan Luedtke had built a slight lead over Plummer prior to that caution but when the green flew on the restart Plummer rocketed around Luedtke and barring mechanical difficulties the race was essentially over. Plummer pulled away from the remainder of the field widening his margin with each passing lap. Luedtke finished second and Brian Gibson was third.

The Sunline Hornets Feature was awarded to CJ Van Horn after a post-race infraction by apparent winner Todd Ness. Ness had led the entire race with Van Horn running second the entire race before officials issued the penalty against Ness for actions after the race. The win was the first for Van Horn. Dan Schmidt finished second and point leader Kurt Bohnsack was third.

Much like the Miller Time Modified feature, Tim Plummer also dominated the Carpetland USA Late Model Feature event, leading 27 of the scheduled 30 laps. Jay Jaspers led the first couple trips around the half-mile before Plummer powered by. Jaspers held second until lap five when Andy Edwards took the spot and sent Jaspers to third. They took the checkered flag in that order with Scott Siems and Chad Siems filling out the top of the order.

With the win, Plummer is on track to repeat his feat of a couple year ago of winning both half-mile divisions at Hawkeye Downs.

Just two weeks remain in the 2013 racing season which features all six divisions racing Friday night August 16 and culminating in Barron Motor Supply Season Championships on August 23.

HAWKEYE DOWNS SPEEDWAY RESULTS

Hy Vee/I-Wireless Championship Series

AUGUST 9, 2013

BARRON MOTOR SUPPLY HOBBY STOCKS

HEAT- 1. (22) Matt Petrzelka, Norway; 2. (57) Malena Betzer, Marion; 3. (14j) Jacob Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 4. (11) Brian Bries, Norway; 5. (00)Adam Petrzelka, Norway; 6. (1) Chris Siems, Ackley; 7. (2) Matt Lacoiursiere, Cedar Rapids; 8. (2x) Jeremy Robbins, Cedar Rapids; 9. (54) Jason Sherman, Marengo

FEATURE (10 laps) 1. Floyd 2. Sherman 3. Betzer 4. Bries 5. Adam Petrzelka 6. Siems 7. Matt Petrzelka DNS- Robbins, Lacoursiere

MOUNTAIN DEW SPORTSMEN

HEAT- 1. (88) Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 2. (83) Ben Glascock, Indianola; 3. (9) Dave Ballsteadt, Marion; 4. (3) Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 5. (6x) Bonb Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Glascoc 2. McCalla 3. Hanson 4. Ballstaedt DQ- Ahrendsen (post-race)

DUBLIN CITY PUB INEX LEGENDS

ANDERSON AUTOMOTIVE TROPHY DASH- Scott Kositzky

HEAT 1- 1. (86) Kevin Korsmo, Atkins; 2. (01) Tim Goettsch, Davenport; 3. (32) Rod McGlothlen, Oskaloosa; 4. (10) Mark Ironside, Swisher; 5. (6) Scott Kositzky, Cedar Rapids; 6. (25) Cole O'Brien, Cedar Rapids

HEAT 2- 1. (29k) Austin Kunert, Batavia, IL; 2. (29) Caleb Adrian, Davenport; 3. (43) Kyle Diercks, Eldridge; 4. (66) Dennis Diercks, Eldridge; 5. (99m) Logan Mitchell, Palmyra, MO; 6. (00) Brody Willet, Alburnett; DNS- (95) Allen Diercks, Bettendorf; DNS- (51) Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (30 laps) – 1. Korsmo 2. Kyle Diercks 3. Goettsch 4. Kunert 5. McGlothlen 6. Allen Diercks 7. Kositzky 8. Adrian 9. Dennis Diercks 10. Mitchell 11. O'Brien 12. Willet DQ- Ironside DNS- Bailey

MILLER TIME MODIFIEDS

HEAT- 1. (8) Ryan Luedtke, Norway; 2. (66) Tim Plummer, Norway; 3. (26) James Dixon, Cedar Rapids; 4. (17) Brian Gibson, Walford; 5. (2) Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids; 6. (5) Ed O'Brien, Cedar Rapids; 7. (49) Steve Lindell, Marion

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Plummer 2. Luedtke 3. Gibson 4. Bender 5. Dixon 6. Lindell 7. O'Brien

SUNLINE HORNETS

HEAT 1- 1. (7b) Brad Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 2. (9d) Dan Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 3. (44) Troy Scott, Cedar Rapids; 4. (14) Zach Hartman, Cedar Rapids; 5. (1A) TJ Aimers, Cedar Rapids

HEAT 2-1. (6) Todd Ness, Cedar Rapids; 2. (24) Jose DeJesus, Cedar Rapids; 3. (4) Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City; 5. CJ Van Horn, Marion

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Van Horn 2. Dan Schmidt 3. Bohnsack 4. Brad Schmidt 5. DeJesus 6. Woodrow 7. Scott 8. Hartman 9. Aimers DQ- Ness (post-race)

CARPETLAND USA LATE MODELS

HEAT- 1. (74) Tim Plummer, Norway; 2. (36) Andy Edwards, New Hartford; 3. (95) Jay Jaspers, Steamboat Rock; 4. (43) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 5. (76) Chad Siems, Shellsburg; DNS- (52) Brian Allen, Hiawatha

FEATURE (30 laps) 1. Plummer 2. Edwards 3. Jaspers 4. Scott Siems 5. Chad Siems DNS- Allen