BRODY WILLETT PICKS UP FIRST LEGENDS WIN AT HAWKEYE DOWNS

BOB AHRENDSEN TOPS SPORTSMEN

(Cedar Rapids, IA 8/15/2014)—Brody Willett, a driver with some 175 Karting victories to his credit, scored his first Dublin City Pub INEX Legends feature win at Hawkeye Downs Speedway Friday night. This is 12-year old Willetts' rookie season in a Legend after spending considerable time practicing last year. Willett has come close to victory lane a couple times earlier in the season but Friday night he collected both a heat win and the feature.

Matt Blake charged to the early lead in the 25-lap Legends feature but on lap four Willett, who had started in the front row alongside Blake, made a strong charge and took command of the point. At the ten lap mark the front five cars were running nose-to-tail with Willett maintaining a slim lead. The laps continued to tick off and it appeared that a restart might be needed as a couple cars spun on the white flag lap but both Bryce Bailey and Blake continued on. Tim Goettsch found himself in second after that incident but couldn't muster a serious charge for the lead on the last lap. Kevin Korsmo, Mark Ironside, and Austin Kunert finished behind Willett and Goettsch.

While Kurt Bohnsack essentially has the 2014 Sunline Hornets title already wrapped up, that didn't stop him from collecting yet another win Friday night. Bohnsack took the lead on lap six and then held off a late charge from Dallas Chandler to claim his tenth win of the season. Chandler closed to within one car length on the white flag lap but came up just a bit short at the line. Troy Scott recorded a strong third-place run with Todd Ness and Drew Nickell filling out the top five.

In Mountain Dew Sportsmen, a familiar face from previous seasons found himself in victory lane at the end of the night. Bob Ahrendsen, who just has a couple of appearances this season motored to his first win of the season after starting in the front row of the twenty lap feature. Craig Stepanek, another familiar name that started racing late in the season, chased Ahrendsen the entire race and pulled even with Ahrendsen on the white flag lap but he couldn't pull off the pass, losing by less than a car length. Greg Hentrich, who has run strong all season, finished in third with Dave Ballstaedt and Cory Houdek filling out the top of the order.

Ryan Luedtke took another step toward wrapping up the title in Miller Time Modifieds as he outran second in points, Jake Griffin, to claim his third feature win of the season. Griffin challenged for the point on lap three but that effort was cut short by the caution flag on the next lap. When green flag racing resumed, Griffin continued the chase but couldn't draw closer than a couple car lengths. Over the final five laps Luedtke flexed his muscle a bit, pulling away to secure the win. Griffin finished second with Mike Schulte scoring third.

In Barron Motor Supply Hobby Stocks, point leader Nathan Ballard made a three-wide pass on lap eight to secure the point and the win. The field had been log-jammed for the first seven trips around the quarter-mile before Ballard made his move.. The field bunched back up when caution waved with four to go but Ballard pulled away again once the green waved as he outran Adam Petrzelka to the checkered flag. Kurt Bohnsack finished third with Jason Sherman and Matt Petrzelka close behind.

Finally, After a tight battle for a few laps with Caleb Adrian, Griffin McGrath racked up his fifth win of the season. McGrath and Adrian raced side-by-side for almost five laps before McGrath started to pull ahead, Just as that was happening, Tim Plummer tried to follow McGrath through. Adrian appeared to get loose and spun partially collecting Plummer which brought out the caution. From that point on it was all McGrath with the closest pursuer being Dan Lensing. Lensing couldn't pull closer than a few car lengths and finished second. Brad Osborn crossed the stripe in third followed by Brian Gibson and Mike Ehde.

Next Friday night is Barron Motor Supply Season Championships with \$5 Admission, \$1 hot dogs, a celebrity hot dog eating contest, and Alliant Energy Fireworks following the races.

HAWKEYE DOWNS SPEEDWAY

HY-VEE RACING SERIES

August 15, 2014

SUNLINE HORNETS

HEAT 1.- 1. (3) Dallas Chandler, Cedar Rapids; 2.(44) Troy Scott, Cedar Rapids; 3. (7b) Brad Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 4. (4) Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City; 5. (16) Todd Ness, Cedar Rapids; 6. (54) CJ Van Horn, Marion; 7. (321) Drew Nickell, Cedar Rapids; 8. (1) Kaden Reynolds, Cedar Rapids; 9. (1a) TJ Aimers, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (15 laps) 1. Bohnsack 2. Chandler 3. Scott 4. Ness 5. Nickell 6. Van Horn 7. Reynolds 8. Aimers 9. Schmidt

MOUNTAIN DEW SPORTSMEN

HEAT 1- 1. (6x) Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 2. (77) Craig Stepanek, Urbana; 3. (88) Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 4. (35) Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha; 5. (19) Cory Houdek, Marion; 6. (9) Dave Ballstaedt, Marion; 7. (3) Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 8. (5) Tom Burke, Nevada; 9. (7) John Kohnston, Victor

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Ahrendsen 2. Stepanek 3. Hentrich 4. Ballsteadt 5. Houdek 6. Hanson 7. Johnston 8. Burke 9. McCalla

BARRON MOTOR SUPPLY HOBBY STOCKS

HEAT 1- 1. (2) Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 2. (48) Adam Petrzelka, Norway; 3. (77) Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 4. (29) Natahan Ballard, Marengo; 5. (54) Jason Sherman, Marengo; 6. (22) Matt Petrzelka, Norway; 7. (4) Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City; DNS- (1) Sonny Parker, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (15 laps) 1. Ballard 2. A. Petrzelka 3. Bohnsack 4. Sherman 5. M. Petrzelka 6. Hanson 7. Lacoursiere 8. Parker

MILLER TIME MODIFIEDS

HEAT 1- 1. (8) Ryan Luedtke, Norway; 2. (99) Mike Schulte, Norway; 3. (2) Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids; 4. (49) Steve Lindell, Marion; 5. (5) Ed O'Brien, Cedar Rapids; DNS- (66) Jake Griffin, Quincy, IL

DUBLIN CITY PUB INEX LEGENDS

HEAT 1- 1 (00) Brody Willett, Alburnett; 2. (29) Austin Kunert, Batavia, IL; 3. (25) Cole O'Brien, Cedar Rapids; 4. (01) Tim Goettsch, Bettendorf; 5. (51) Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids; 6. (66) Dennis Diercks, Eldridge

HEAT 2.- 1. (88) Matt Blake, Cedar Rapids; 2. (86) Kevin Korsmo, Atkins; 3. (10) Mark Ironside, Swisher; 4. (21) Mark Greb, Coralville; 5. (37) Danny Lehmkuhl, Cedar Rapids; 6. (43) Gary Dyer, Blue Grass; DNS- (95) Al Diercks, Davenport

FEATURE (25 laps) 1.Willett 2. Goettsch 3. Korsmo 4. Ironside 5. Kunert 6. Blake 7. O'Brien 8. Bailey 9. Greb 10. A. Diercks 11. Lehmkuhl 12. Dyer 13. D. Diercks

CARPETLAND USA LATE MODELS

HEAT 1-1. (17) Brian Gibson, Walford; 2. (64) Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids; 3.(19) Dan Lensing, Roscoe, IL; 4. (29) Caleb Adrian, Davenport; 5. (52) Brian Allen, Hiawatha; 6. (99) Logan Mitchell, Palmyra, MO

HEAT 2-1. (18) Mike Ehde, Prairie du Chien, WI; 2. (74) Tim Plummer, Norway 3. (72) Brad Osborn, Janesville; 4. (43) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 5. (76) Chad Siems, Shellsburg

FEATURE (25 laps) 1. McGrath 2. Lensing 3. Osborn 4. Gibson 5. Ehde 6. S. Siems 7. C. Siems 8. Allen 9. Mitchell 10. Adrian 11. Plummer