KANDI FLOYD WINS "PHOTO FINISH" HOBBY STOCK FEATURE

(Cedar Rapids, IA 082313)—The 2013 Hawkeye Downs Speedway season came to a close Friday night with the Barron Motor Supply Season Championships. While most of the divisions in the Hy-Vee/I-Wireless Championship Series were already decided before the first green flag waved, there was still plenty of drama throughout the evening.

The Barron Motor Supply feature was almost a "dead heat" at the finish line as point leader Matt Petrzelka and Kandi Floyd crossed the stripe in what certainly would have been a photo finish were this a horse race. Matt Lacoursiere led early before Floyd took the lead just before the halfway mark and on the final lap Petrzelka made a furious charge to catch Floyd but came up just a bit short according to the final ruling. Lacoursiere finished in third behind Petrzelka.

The win was the second in a row for Floyd.

Brian Franks took the checkers in the Mountain Dew Sportsmen feature after he came back through the back following a lap ten incident with point leader Dave McCalla. Franks and McCalla came through the pack quickly when green flag racing resumed with Franks taking the lead from Ben Glascock on lap fourteen. Franks was able to hold off McCalla for the win with Glascock finishing in third. The race saw some great three-wide action before Franks and McCalla tangled.

The Dublin City Pub Legends may have been suffering from 'full moon hangover" as their thirty-lap feature was interrupted numerous times by the caution flag. Joining the field Friday night was Nelson Stewart, father of NASCAR's Tony Stewart. The elder Stewart, who is 75, travels extensively with both dirt and pavement Legend cars and he dropped in at Hawkeye Downs Friday night. He finished 9th of out 17 cars Friday night in what he says is his first outing on the pavement with this particular car.

The feature saw Kyle Diercks and Kevin Korsmo leading laps early on. Bryce Bailey took the point from Korsmo at the halfway mark and led to the checkers but not without a couple interuptions from the caution flag, including one with two laps remaining as Korsmo was trying for the lead. Bailey retained his spot on the restart and held off a furious last lap effort from Austin Kunert to secure the win. Kunert finished second and Danny Lehmkuhl scored a strong third-place run.

Mike Schulte posted a flag-to-flag run to the checkers earning his first feature win of the season. Schulte, who raced just a few times this season, bolted to the lead and kept himself of points leader Tim Plummer for the balance of the race. Plummer finished in second about four car lengths back with Ryan Luedtke finishing in third.

The Sunline Hornets featured a great battle between Dan Schmidt and point leader Kurt Bohnsack. After Zach Hartman and CJ Van Horn led laps early Dan Schmidt took the lead on lap eight. Shortly after that the caution flag waved for a spin by Jose DeJesus, resetting the field. Bohnsack wrestled the lead away from Schmidt on lap ten but on the following lap Schmidt took back the point.

One lap later, Bohnsack regained the lead and the pair ran side-by-side through lap fourteen when Bohnsack finally cleared the lead for good. Schmidt skipped back a bit allowing CJ Van Horn to take second and finish in that position. Schmidt finished third followed by his brother Brad and Steve Woodrow finished fifth.

The CarpetlandUSA Late Model feature didn't get far before the action halted when Jay Jaspers, Brad Osborn, Brian Allen, and others were involved in a crash in turn four of the first lap.

When racing resumed, Andy Edwards led through the first five laps before division leader Tim Plummer took the lead on lap six. Two laps later Edwards regained the lead, which he help until lap fourteen. Plummer moved within striking distance again and took the point back for good at the halfway mark.

Thor Anderson slipped around Edwards to take second on lap later and set his sights on Plummer. With nine laps to go, Anderson moved to within one car length of Plummer but could draw no closer. As the final laps ticked off Plummer was able to widen his lead again. Anderson finished second with Edwards finishing third.

2013 Hy-Vee/I-Wireless Championship Series Season Champions

HOBBY STOCK- Matt Petrzelka

SPORTSMEN- Dave McCalla

LEGENDS- Tim Goettsch

MODIFIEDS- Tim Plummer

HORNETS- Kurt Bohnsack

LATE MODELS- Tim Plummer

HAWKEYE DOWNS SPEEDWAY RESULTS BARRON MOTOR SUPPLY SEASON CHAMPIONSHIPS Hy Vee/I-Wireless Championship Series AUGUST 23, 2013

BARRON MOTOR SUPPLY HOBBY STOCKS

HEAT 1- 1. (54)Jason Sherman, Marengo ; 2. (14j) Jacob Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 3. (1) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 4. (11) Brian Bries, Norway; 5. (12) Brandon Herb, Marion; 6. (2x) Jeremy Robbins, Cedar Rapids

HEAT 2-1. (12k) Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 2. (22) Matt Petrzellka, Norway; 3. (00) adam Petrzelka, Norway; 4. (57) Malena Betzer, Marion; 5. (2) Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 6. (88) Matt Stoner, Parnell

FEATURE (10 laps) 1. Kandi Floyd 2. Matt Petrzelka (SEASON POINTS CHAMPION) 3. Lacoursiere 4. Adam Petrzelka 5. Sherman 6. Betzer 7. Siems 8. Bries 9. Stoner 10. Jacob Floyd 11. Herb DNS- Robbins

MOUNTAIN DEW SPORTSMEN

HEAT- 1. (83) Ben Glascock, Indianola; 2. (88) Brian Franks, Cedar Rapids; 3. (3) Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 4. (9) Dave Ballstaedt, Marion; . (35) Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Franks 2. McCalla (SEASON POINTS CHAMPION) 3. Glascock 4. Ballsteadt 5. Hentrich

DUBLIN CITY PUB INEX LEGENDS

ANDERSON AUTOMOTIVE TROPHY DASH- Caleb Adrian, Davenport

HEAT 1- 1. (43) Kyle Diercks, Eldridge; 2. (86) Kevin Korsmo, Atkins; 3. (01) Tim Goettsch, Bettendorf; 4. (66) Dennis Diercks, Eldridge; 5. (51) Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids; 6. (21) Mark Greb, Coralville, 7. (37) Danny Lehmkuhl, Cedar Rapids; 8. (44s) Nelson Stewart, Indianapolis, IN; DNS- (95) Allen Diercks, Bettendorf-DNS

HEAT 2- 1. (10) Mark Ironside, Swisher; 2. (29) Caleb Adrian, Davenport; 3. (29k) Austin Kunert, Batavia, IL; 4. (32) Rod McGlothlen, Oskaloosa; 5. (25) Cole O'Brien, Cedar Rapids; 6. (Z3) Adrianne Hartman, Walford; 7. (64) Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids; 8. (00) Brody Willet, Alburnett

FEATURE (30 laps) 1. Bailey 2.Kunert 3. Lehmkuhl 4. Allen Diercks 5. Ironside 6. Dennis Diercks7. Hartman 8. Korsmo 9. Stewart 10. Willet 11. Goettsch (SEASON POINTS CHAMPION) 12.Adrian 13. McGlothlen 14. Greb 15. Kyle Diercks 16. O'Brien 17. McGrath

*CALEB ADRIAN AND TIM GOETTSCH WERE BOTH DQ'd AFTER THE FEATURE

MILLER TIME MODIFIEDS

HEAT- 1. (99) Mike Schulte, Norway; 2. (66) Tim Plummer, Norway; 3. (8) Ryan Luedtke, Norway; 4. (49) Steve Lindell, Marion; 5. (5) Ed O'Brien, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Schulte 2. Plummer (SEASON POINT CHAMPION) 3. Luedtke 4. Lindell 5. O'Brien

SUNLINE HORNETS

HEAT 1- 1. (4) Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City; 2. (9d) Dan Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 3. (24) Jose DeJesus, Cedar Rapids; 4. (59) Steve Woodrow, Marion; 5. (7b) Brad Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 6. (44) Troy Scott, Cedar Rapids; 7. (14) Zach Hartman, Cedar Rapids; 8. (54) CJ Van Horn, Marion; 9. (1a) TJ Aimers, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (30 laps) 1. Bohnsack (SEASON POINTS CHAMPION) 2. Van Horn 3. Dan Schmidt 4. Brad Schmidt 5. Woodrow 6. Scott 7. Hartman 8. Aimers 9. DeJesus

CARPETLAND USA LATE MODELS

HEAT- 1. (4) Thor Anderson, Bondurant; 2. (74) Tim Plummer, Norway; 3. (95) Jay Jaspers, Steamboat Rock; 4. (36) Andy Edwards, New Hartford; 5. (43) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 6. (72) Brad Osborn, Janesville 7. (52) Brian Allen, Hiawatha; 8. (76) Chad Siems, Shellsburg

FEATURE (30 laps) 1. Plummer (SEASON POINT CHAMPION) 2. Anderson 3. Edwards 4. Scott Siems 5. Chad Siems 6. Allen 7. Osborn 8. Jaspers

*BRIAN ALLEN & JAY JASPERS WERE BOTH DQ'D AFTER THE FEATURE