# ZACH LESS, MATT BLAKE FIRST TIME VISITORS TO HAWKEYE DOWNS VICTORY LANE

(Cedar Rapids, IA 05/20/2016)—A pair of first time winners were among the visitors to Hawkeye Downs Victory Lane Friday night on Corridor Motors Night. It was week three of the Hy-Vee Racing Series.

Zach Less earned his first Performance Concepts Big 8 Late Model victory, winning the 35-lap feature in that division. He took the lead from Brian Gibson with 12 laps remaining and then held off Brad Osborn over the final 8 laps to secure the win and \$1000. Osborn finished second while Gibson was third. Brody Willett completed another impressive run finishing fourth while Wisconsin driver Mike Ehde finished fifth.

Drivers completed 2- lap qualifying and then ran odd-even heats based on qualifying. The feature invert was set by a dice roll by the fastest qualifier.

Fast Qualifier Griffin McGrath saw his string of bad luck continue at he tagged the wall on the first lap and was unable to complete the race.

Special thanks to Corridor Motors for increasing the Late Model Purse and sponsoring the evening's racing.

Matt Blake earned his first Dublin City Pub INEX Legends feature posting a wire-to-wire run to the checkers over Kevin Korsmo and Brady Fox-Rhode. Cole O'Brien finished fourth and Brody Willett was fifth in the nineteen car event.

Earlier in the evening, Gary Dyer won the 12-lap Carpetland USA "Floor It" Dash for Legends. There was a scary moment early in the race when Warren Ropp and Mer Slabaugh tangled wheels sending Slabaugh onto his roof. The drivers appeared OK but neither could continue.

Troy Scott held off a late charge from Dallas Chandler and survived a green-white-checker finish brought on by a late caution to post his first win of the season in the Miller Time Hornet faeture. Chandler had just taken the lead when the caution flag but had to relinquish the point as the restart reverted to the last completed lap. Drew Nickell finished third, Todd Ness was fourth and Derek Parrott was fifth. Jim Hanson picked up his first of two feature wins on the night in the newly named Anderson Automotive Hobby Stocks feature. The caution filled race saw Scott Siems lead the early laps before Kandi Floyd took control. Floyd held the point until near the end of the race when she suffered damage while battling Gerald Hall who was attempting to take the lead.

Jim Hanson worked around Hall to take the point as the last lap ticked off with Hall, Brandon Herb, Jasen Freeman, and Braxton Franks filling out the top five.

Jim Hanson found himself in Victory Lane once again after winning the Mountain Dew Sportsmen feature. Greg Hentrich led the majority of the race until Hanson caught him with six laps remaining. Shortly after Hanson made what would be the winning pass Hentrich suffered a drive train failure and was unable to continue.

When the green waved for the final laps Hanson pulled away while CJ VanHorn, Kevin Franks, Mike Mitchell, and Jeremy Clement followed him across threw stripe.

Racing returns next Friday night, May 27th, with all five Hy-Vee Racing Series divisions in action.

## ANDERSON AUTOMOTIVE HOBBY STOCKS

HEAT 1- 1. (07) Jim Hanson 2.(1) Scott Siems 3. (43) Ed O'Brien 4. (88) Gerald Hall 5. (12) Brandon Herb 6. (54H) Dale Sherman 7. (41) Jasen Freeman

HEAT 2- 1. (12k) Kandi Floyd 2. (8) Braxton Franks 3. (54) Jason Sherman 4. (2) Matt LaCoursiere 5. (11) Brian Bries 6. (3) Chris Rollinger DNS- (14j) Jacob Floyd

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. (07)Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 2.(88) Gerald Hall, Cedar Rapids; 3. (12)Brandon Herb, Marion; 4. (41) Jasen Freeman, Cedar Rapids; 5. (8) Braxton Franks, Cedar Rapids; 6. (2) Matt LaCoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 7. (43) Ed O'Briend, Cedar Rapids; 8. (54) Jason Sherman, Marengo; 9. (3) Chris Rollinger; 10. (1) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 11. (11) Brian Bries, Norway; 12. (12k) Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 13. (14j) Jacob Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 14. (54H) Dale Sherman, Marengo

## MILLER TIME HORNETS

HEAT 1-1. (44) Troy Scott 2. (3) Dallas Chandler 3. (72) Ethan Parrott 4. (1A Logan Foye 5. DNS- (6) John Ness, (9) James Montgomery

HEAT 2- 1.(87) Drew Nickell 2. (76) Lucas Foster 3. (01) Derek Parrott 4. (16) Todd Ness 5. (7) Rich Coulbourn

FEATURE (15 laps) 1.(44) Troy Scott, Cedar Rapids; 2. (3) Dallas Chandler, Cedar Rapids; 3. (87) Drew Nickell, Cedar Rapids; 4. (16) Todd Ness, Cedar Rapids; 5.
01) Derek Parrott, Marion; 6. (72) Ethan Parrott, Marion; 7. (9) James Montgomery, Cedar Rapids; 8. (1A) Logan Foye, Marion; 9. (76) Lucas Foster, Cedar Rapids; 10. (7) Rich Coulbourn, Cedar Rapids; 11.(6) John Ness, Cedar Rapids

**DUBLIN CITY PUB INEX LEGENDS** 

HEAT 1- 1. (56) Austin Slabaugh 2. (52) Kevin Korsmo 3.(66) Gary Dyer 4. (17) Sydney Henderson 5. (28) Pat Cady

HEAT 2-1. (00) Brody Willett 2. (88) Matt Blake 3. (10) Mark Ironside 4. (77) Warren Ropp 5. (29) Caleb Adrian 6. (95) Al Dierks 7. (13) Stacy Olson

HEAT 3- 1. (25) Cole O'Brien 2. (4) Brady Fox-Rhode 3. (51) Bryce Bailey 4. (90) Jeff Selfridge DNS- (3) Matt Hudspeth, (16) Mer Slabaugh, (12) Sammy Smith

FEATURE (25 laps) 1. (88) Matt Blake, Cedar Rapids; 2. (52) Kevin Korsmo, Atkins 3. (4) Brady Fox- Rhode, Moretto, MN; 5. (00) Brody Willett, Alburnett; 6. (6) Austin Slabaugh, Kalona; 7. (10) Mark Ironside, Swisher; 8. (77) Warren Ropp, Kalona; 9. (95) Al Diercks, Davenport; 10. (12) Sammy Smith, Des Moines; 11. (66) Gary Dyer, Bluegrass; 12. (90) Jeff Selfridge, Marion; 13. (28) Pat Cady; 14. (13) Stacy Olson, Cedar Rapids; 15. (29) Caleb Adrian, Walcott; 16. (16) Mer Slabaugh, Kalona; 17. (17) Sydney Henderson, Walford; DNS- (51) Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids; (3) Matt Hudspeth, Granger

## **MOUNTAIN DEW SPORTSMEN**

HEAT- 1. (35) Greg Hentrich 2.(54) C.J. Van Horn 3. (88) Jim Hanson 4. (5) Tom Burke 5. (77) Kevin Franks 6. Mike Mitchell 7. (9) Dave Ballstaedt 8. (57) Jeremy Clement

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. (88) Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 2.(54) C.J. VanHorn, Marengo; 3.(77) Kevin Franks, Cedar Rapids; 4. (6x) Mike Mitchell, Cedar Rapids; 5. (57) Jeremy Clement, Cedar Rapids; 6. (35) Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha; 7. (5) Tom Burke, Nevada; 8. (9) Dave Ballstaedt, Marion

## PERFORMANCE CONCEPTS LATE MODELS

FAST QUALIFIER- Griffin McGrath 19.333

HEAT 1 – 1.(17) Brian Gibson 2. (180) Michael Ostdiek 3. (64) Griffin McGrath 4. (53) Jared Duda 5. (18E) Mike Ehde 6. (43) Scott Siems

HEAT 2-1. (00) Brody Willett, Alburnett 2. (20) Zach Less; 3. (3) Dave McCalla 4. (71) Mark Greb 5. (76) Chad Siems 6. (72) Brad Osborn

FEATURE (35 laps) 1. (20) Zach Less, Manchester; 2. (72) Brad Osborn, Janesville;
3. (17) Brian Gibson, Walford; 4. (00) Brody Willett, Alburnett; 5. (18E) Mike Ehde,
Prairie Du Chien, WI; 6. (53) Jared Duda, St. Michael, MN; 7. (71) Mark Greb,
Coralville; 8. (43) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 9. (76) Chad Siems, Shellsburg; 10.
(180) Michael Ostdiek, Lakeville, MN; 11.(3) Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 12. (64)
Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids