

# CHANDLER, HANSON, WILLETT GRAB FEATURE WINS BEFORE RAIN HALTS PROGRAM AT HAWKEYE DOWNS

(Cedar Rapids, IA 05/27/2016)— Three of the five features were completed before the rains came at Hawkeye Downs Speedway Friday night on week four of the HyVee Racing Series.

Dallas Chandler picked up his third win of the season after battling Drew Nickell the final three laps of the Miller Time Hornets feature. Todd Ness led the early laps but saw his lead erased by a lap three caution. Nickell took command shortly after green flag racing resumed but Chandler came through the pack and with five to go challenged for the point. Two laps later he took a narrow lead and the pair raced side-by-side to the checkered flag with Chandler winning by a bumper. Ness finished third.

Jim Hanson kept his winning streak alive in the Anderson Automotive Hobby Stocks winning his third trip to victory lane this season. Kandi Floyd led much of the race but a pair of cautions bunched the field over the last few laps and allowed Jim Hanson to take the lead and secure the win. Gerald "Bubba" Hall finished third.

Brody Willett took the lead from Cole O'Brien near the mid-point of the 25-lap Dublin City Pub INEX Legends Feature and then held off a late charge from O'Brien to earn his first win of the 2016 season. Lapped traffic kept the front of the field tight as the final laps ticked off but Willett was able to out maneuver O'Brien to preserve the win. Kevin Korsmo finished third.

It showered lightly off and on through the first part of the program but about seven laps into the Mountain Dew Sportsmen feature the heavier rains came and forced officials to pull the plug for the evening. CJ Van Horn was leading when the race was red-flagged and the remainder of the race will be run next week.

#### MILLER TIME HORNETS

HEAT 1-1. (3) Dallas Chandler 2.(87) Drew Nickell3.(16) Todd Ness 4.(76)Lucas Foster 5.(1A) Logan Foye

HEAT 2- (72) Ethan Parrott 2.(01) Derek Parrott 3.(44) Troy Scott 4.(9) James Montgomery 5.(7) Michael Coulbourn DNS- (6) John Ness

FEATURE (15 laps) 1.(3) Dallas Chandler, Cedar Rapids; 2.(87) Drew Nickell, Cedar Rapids; 3.(16) Todd Ness, Cedar Rapids; 4.(72) Ethan Parrott, Marion; 5.(01) Derek Parrott, Marion; 6.(76) Lucas Foster, Cedar Rapids; 7. (7) Michael Coulbourn, Cedar Rapids; 8.(9) James Montgomery, Cedar Rapids; 9. (1A) Logan Foye, Marion; 10. (44) Troy Scott, Cedar Rapids; DNS- John Ness, Cedar Rapids

#### ANDERSON AUTOMOTIVE HOBBY STOCKS

HEAT 1- 1. (1) Scott Siems 2. (41) Jasen Freeman 3.(12) Brandon Herb 4.(43) Ed O'Brien 5.(88) Gerald Hall 6.(3) Chris Rollinger 7.(54H) Dale Sherman

HEAT 2- 1.(14J) Jacob Floyd 2.(07) Jim Hanson 3.(12k) Kandi Floyd 4.(54) Jason Sherman 5.(8) Braxton Franks 6.(2) Matt Lacoursiere 7.(11) Brian Bries

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. (07)Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 2.(12K) Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 3.(88) Gerald Hall, Cedar Rapids; 4.(54) Jason Sherman, Marengo; 5.(2) Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 6.(43) Ed O'Brien, Cedar Rapids; 7.(41) Jasen Freeman, Cedar Rapids; 8.(8) Braxton Franks, Cedar Rapids; 9.(3) Chris Rollinger; 10. (12) Brandon Herb, Marion; 11. (11) Brian Bries, Norway; 12. (54H) Dale Sherman, Marengo; 13. (14J) Jacob Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 14. (1) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids

#### **DUBLIN CITY PUB INEX LEGENDS**

HEAT 1- 1. (00) Brody Willett 2.(88) Matt Blake 3.(66) Gary Dyer 4.(12) Sammy Smith 5.(99) Dennis Diercks, Davenport 6.(13) Stacy Olson, Cedar Rapids; 7. (28) Pat Cady 8.(17) Sydney Henderson

HEAT 2-1. (29) Caleb Adrian 2.(6) Austin Slabaugh 3.(52) Kevin Korsmo 4.(25) Cole O'Brien 5. (77) Warren Ropp 6. (16) Mer Slabaugh DNS- (3) Matt Hudspeth, (95) Al Diercks

FEATURE (25 laps) 1. (00) Brody Willett, Alburnett; 2.(25) Cole O'Brien, Cedar Rapids; 3.(52) Kevin Korsmo, Atkins; 4. (29) Caleb Adrian, Walcott; 5.(6) Austin Slabaugh, Kalona; 6. (77) Warren Ropp, Kalona; 7. (12) Sammy Smith, Des Moines; 8. (95) Al Diercks, Davenport; 9. (66) Gary Dyer,

Blugrass; 10. (28) Pat Cady; 11.(13) Stacy Olson, Cedar Rapids; 12. (16) Mer Slabaugh, Kalona; 13. (99) Dennis Diercks, Davenport; 14. (88) Matt Blake, Cedar Rapids; DNS- (17) Sydney Henderson, Walford; (3) Matt Hudspeth, Granger

### MOUNTAIN DEW SPORTSMEN

HEAT- 1. (35) Greg Hentrich 2.(88) Jim Hanson 3.(9) Dave Ballstaedt 4.(77) Kevin Franks 5. (54) CJ Van Horn 6.(5) Tom Burke 7. (6x) Mike Mitchell 8. (57) Jeremy Clement

FEATURE POSTPONED

## PERFORMANCE CONCEPTS LATE MODELS

HEAT 1 - 1.(5) Jeremy Miller 2.(72) Brad Osborn 3.(20) Zach Less 4.(00) Brody Willett 5. (17) Brian Gibson 6.(71) Mark Greb 7. (76) Chad Siems 8. (3) Dave McCalla 9. (43) Scott Siems

**FEATURE POSTPONED**