7.18.14

SCHULTE, HOUDEK, KORSMO AMONG MAHONEY CONSTRUCTION NIGHT WINNERS (Cedar Rapids, IA)—The 2014 racing season continues to roll along at historic Hawkeye Downs Speedway as Mahoney Construction presented action in all six divisions of the Hy Vee Racing Series. Mahoney Construction is a long-time supporter of Hawkeye Downs Racing and in addition to sponsoring racers, they've also stepped up to help with many projects at Hawkeye Downs. Friday night was also Lil' Racer Car Club Foster Care/Adoption Awareness Night in conjunction with Four Oaks, Iowa KidsNet, and The Macaroni Kid. The club also staged "The Worlds' Largest Candy Dash on an Asphalt Track in Iowa-Part 2" during Intermission. Some 835 pounds of candy was donated to the club by racers, crews, and fans and with the large amount donated, the treats were split into two candy dash events over two weeks. On the track, Kurt Bohnsack picked up his eighth win of the season in the fifteen-lap Sunline Hornets feature. Bohnsack started near the back of the field, moved into second by lap three and then chased leader Brad Schmidt for four laps before taking the point on lap seven. Schmidt held off Dallas Chandler to maintain second at the stripe. Todd Ness and CJ Van Horn finished in fourth and fifth behind Chandler. The Mountain Dew Sportsmen feature saw Cory Houdek pick up his first win of 2014 and in doing so he became the fifth different winner in that division this season. Houdek started outside row one and built a sizable early lead as the field sorted itself out. Action was slowed on lap seven when Dave McCalla and Dave Ballstaedt made contact. When racing resumed Houdek again pulled away with Jim Hanson his closest pursuer. Ballstaedt finished in third behind Hanson with McCalla and Tom Burke filling out the top of the order. A very familiar name returned to victory lane in the Miller Time Modified Feature as Mike Schulte earned the win. Ryan Luedtke built a fairly sizable early lead while Jake Griffin and Schulte battled for second. Schulte slipped around Griffin and went to work on reeling in Luedtke taking the lead on lap seven. Luedtke maintined second until lap nine when Griffin took that spot. It appeared Schulte would have clear sailing to the checkered flag until a spin brought out the caution resetting field. Schulte got an excellent restart and crossed the stripe well ahead of Jake Griffin. Luedtke maintained third with Craig Bender finishing fourth and Steve Lindell, fifth. Jim Hanson scored the winning hardware in the Barron Motor Supply Hobby Stock feature after taking the lead from pole-sitter Matt Lacoursiere on lap eight. A couple cautions slowed the action early but Hanson worked through the pack from his row four starting spot challenging the leader on lap seven and clearing the lead on the next trip around the guartermile. Matt Petrzelka rallied from an earlier spin to finish second with Lacoursiere crossing the stripe in third. Adam Petrzelka finished fourth and Kandi Floyd was fifth. The win was the first of the season in this division for Hanson, who also drives in the Mountain Dew Sportsmen where he has recorded multiple wins. Kevin Korsmo picked up his first win of the season in the very entertaining Dublin City Pub Legends Feature. Brody Willett built a big lead early and appeared to be running away with the race in the first five laps before caution bunched the field back up on lap six. By lap eight, Korsmo was challenging Willett for the point and one lap later he took the top spot. Another caution followed on lap ten bunching the field yet again. When green flag racing resumed, Korsmo was still out front with Willett giving chase and Austin Kunert and Dennis Diercks battling back and forth for third. A final caution halted the action with three laps remaining setting up a final run to the checkered flag with KorsmoWillett-Dennis Diercks running at the front of the pack. Korsmo maintined his lead to the checkered flag despite a strong late

charge by Willett, who pulling alongside Korsmo as the pair took the checkered flag. Austin Kunert passed Diercks on the final lap to secure third. Diercks finished fourth and Mark Ironside was fifth. Finally, the Carpetland USA Late Models feature saw Griffin McGrath pick up his third win of the 2014 campaign after taking the lead from Caleb Adrian on lap five. Adrian had taken the lead from pole-sitter Chad Siems on lap two before McGrath moved up to challenge on lap four and then secured the point for good on the following lap. At the halfway point McGrath had stretched his margin over Adrian to nine car lengths with Tim Plummer running in third. That trio maintained their positions to the checkered flag with Brian Gibson and Brian Allen also posting top five runs. Racing returns next Friday night, July 25 when Caseys General Stores sponsors all six divisions of racing. HAWKEYE DOWNS SPEEDWAY HY-VEE RACING SERIES Mahoney Construction Night July 18, 2014 SUNLINE HORNETS HEAT 1.- 1. (16) Todd Ness, Cedar Rapids; 2. (7b) Brad Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 3. (3) Dallas Chandler, Cedar Rapids; 4. (4) Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City; 5. (54) CJ Van Horn, Cedar Rapids; 6. (1a) TJ Aimers, Cedar Rapids; 7. (44) Troy Scott, Cedar Rapids FEATURE (15 laps) 1. Bohnsack 2. Schmidt 3. Chandler 4. Ness 5. Van Horn 6. Scott 7. Aimers MOUNTAIN DEW SPORTSMEN HEAT- 1. ((19) Corv Houdek, Marion; 2. (88) Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 3. (5) Tom Burke, Nevada; 4. (3) Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 5. (36) Johnny Spaw, Cedar Rapids; 6. (35) Greg Hentrich, Hiawtha; 7. (7) John Johnston, Victor; 8. (9) Dave Ballstaedt, Marion FEATURE (15 laps) 1. Houdek 2. Hanson 3. Ballstaedt 4. McCalla 5. Burke 6. Spaw 7. Hentrich 8. Johnston MILLER TIME MODIFIEDS HEAT- 1. (99) Mike Schulte, Norway; 2. (66) Jake Griffin, Quincy, IL; 3. (8) Ryan Luedtke, Norway 4. (2) Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids; 5. (49) Steve Lindell, Marion FEATURE (15 laps) 1Schulte 2. Griffin 3. Luedtke 4. Bender 5. Lindell BARRON MOTOR SUPPLY HOBBY STOCKS HEAT 1-1. (77) Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 2. (12k) Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 3. (48) Adam Petrzelka, Norway; 4. (14j) Jacob Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 5. (29) Nathan Ballard, Marengo; 6. (57) Malena Clement, Cedar Rapids HEAT 2- 1. (22) Matt Petrzelka; 2. (2) Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 3. (4) Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City; 4. (54) Jason Sherman, Marengo; 5. (1) Sonny Parker, Cedar Rapids FEATURE (15 laps) 1. Hanson 2. M. Petrzelka 3. Lacoursiere 4. A. Petrzelka 5. K. Floyd 6. Bohnsack 7. Sherman 8. J. Floyd 9. Clement 10. Parker 11. Ballard DUBLIN CITY PUB INEX LEGENDS HEAT 1-1. (51) Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids; 2. (66) Dennis Diercks, Eldridge; 3. (77) Warren Ropp, Kalona; 4. (10) Mark Ironside, Swisher; 5. (43) Gary Dyer, Blue Grass; 6. (3) Trent Jochimsen, Cedar Rapids; 7. (29w) Jeff Willitts, Milan, IL; 8. (88) Matt Blake, Cedar Rapids HEAT 2.- 1. (87) Robbie Carter, Bursnville, MN; 2. (00) Brody Willett, Alburnett; 3. (86) Kevin Korsmo, Atkins; 4. (29) Austin Kunert, Batavia, IL; 5. (25) Cole O'Brien, Cedar Rapids; 6. (R8) Ross Davisson, Coralville; DNS- Al Diercks, Davenport FEATURE (25 laps) 1. Korsmo 2. Willett 3. Kunert 4.D. Diercks 5. Ironside 6. O'Brien 7. Davisson 8. Ropp 9. A. Diercks 10. Dyer 11. Bailey 12. Willits 13. Jochimsen 14. Carter DNS-Blake CARPETLAND USA LATE MODELS HEAT 1-1. (76) Chad Siems, Shellsburg; 2. (74) Tim Plummer, Norway; 3. (17) Brian Gibson, Walford; 4. (64) Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids; 5. (52) Brian Allen, Hiawatha; 6. (43) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 7. (29) Caleb Adrian, Davenport; 8. (99) Logan Mitchell, Palmyra, MO; 9. (72) Brad Osborn, Janesville FEATURE (25 laps) 1. McGrath 2. Adrian 3. Plummer 4. Gibson 5. Allen 6. C. Siems 7. S. Siems 8. Mitchell 9. Osborn