Gibson, Hanson, Hall Among Friday's Winners

GIBSON, HANSON POST WINS BUT POINT RACES REMAIN TIGHT AFTER FRIDAY NIGHT

KIDS WERE WINNERS TOO WITH BIKES AND HELMETS!

(AUGUST 12, 2016)—Friday night was DS Disposal Kids Night at Cedar Rapids' Hawkeye Downs Speedway. DS Disposal teamed up with the Lil' Racer Car Club to give away nearly 40 Bikes and bike helmets and also DS Disposal staged a Candy Dash during Intermission.

Everyone was a winner before the races as well as the Lil' Racer Car Club presented the Great American Ice Cream Giveaway with free ice cream being scooped up.

On the track, Brian Gibson picked up his fourth win of the season in Performance Concepts Late Models and slightly widened his point margin over Brad Osborn, who finished second. Zach Less crossed the stripe in third.

Jim Hanson scored the win in Mountain Dew Sportsmen which is his sixth of the season in that division. John Johnston crossed the line in second in just his second outing this season. CJ Van Horn finished third. Hanson had been tied with Greg Hentrich headed into Friday nights' action but Hentrich was parked by officials after a lap 17 for hitting Hanson's car after the caution was out.

Derek Parrott notched his third win of 2016 in Miller Time Hornets edging out point leader Dallas Chandler. Todd Ness was actually first across the stripe but the car failed post-race inspection and Parrott advanced to the number one finishing slot. Troy Scott finished third.

Gerald Hall picked up the win in Anderson Automotive Hobby Stocks, earning his first win of the season in the Hy-Vee Racing Series. Jason Sherman finished second and Kevin Franks was third. Point leader Jim Hanson finished seventh but has all but locked up the point race in the division.

In Dublin City Pub INEX Legends, Cole O'Brien earned his second trip to victory lane of 2016 finishing ahead of Austin Slabaugh and point leader Kevin Korsmo. O'Brien started in the fourth row alongside Korsmo.

The 2016 season concludes Friday night, August 19 when five champions will be crowned.

MILLER TIME HORNETS

HEAT 1- 1. (16) Todd Ness 2. (01) Derek Parrott 3. (44) Troy Scott 4. (7) Michael Coulbourn 5. (47) Curt Gibbs

HEAT 2- 1. (3) Dallas Chandler 2. (87) Drew Nickell 3. (72) Ethan Parrott 4. (76) Lucas Foster 5. (6) John Ness

FEATURE (15 laps) – 1. (01) Derek Parrott, Marion; 2. (3) Dallas Chandler, Cedar Rapids; 3. (44) Troy Scott, Cedar Rapids; 4. (76) Lucas Foster, Cedar Rapids; 5. (87) Drew Nickell, Cedar Rapids; 6. (7) Michael Coulbourn, Cedar Rapids; 7. (72) Ethan Parrott, Marion; 8. (6) John Ness, Cedar Rapids; 9. (47) Curt Gibbs, Cedar Rapids DQ- (16) Todd Ness, Cedar Rapids

ANDERSON AUTOMOTIVE HOBBY STOCKS

HEAT 1- 1. (88) Gerald Hall 2. (07) Jim Hanson 3. (8) Braxton Franks 4. (2) Matt Lacoursiere 5. (14J) Jacob Floyd 6. (41) Jasen Freeman 7. (54H) Dale Sherman

HEAT 2-1. (77) Kevin Franks 2. (1) Scott Siems 3. (3) Chris Rolinger 4. (54) Jason Sherman 5. (11) Brian Bries 6. (43) Ed O'Brien 7. (12K) Kandi Floyd

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. (88) Gerald Hall, Cedar Rapids; 2. (54) Jason Sherman, Marengo; 3. (77) Kevin Franks, Cedar Rapids; 4. (2) Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 5. (8) Braxton Franks, Cedar Rapids; 6. (14J) Jacob Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 7. (07) Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 8. (43) Ed O'Brien, Cedar Rapids; 9. (41) Jasen Freeman, Cedar Rapids; 10. (12K) Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 11. (1) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 12. (11) Brian Bries, Norway; 13. (54H) Dale Sherman, Marengo; 14. (3) Chris Rolinger, Cedar Rapids

DUBLIN CITY PUB INEX LEGENDS

CARPETLAND USA FLOOR IT DASH- (99) Dennis Diercks

HEAT 1-1. (88) Matt Blake 2. (52) Kevon Korsmo 3. (6) Austin Slabaugh 4. (99) Dennis Diercks 5. (28) Pat Cady 6. (02) Tim Fredericks 7. (17) Sydney Henderson

HEAT 2- 1. (25) Cole O'Brien 2. (10) Mark Ironside 3. (66) Gary Dyer 4. (77) Warren Ropp 5. (95) al Diercks 6. (16) Mer Slabaugh 7. (13) Stacy Olson

FEATURE (25 laps)-1. (25) Cole O'Brien, Cedar Rapids; 2. (6) Austin Slabaugh, Kalona; 3. (52) Kevin Korsmo, Atkins; 4. (10) Mark Ironside, Swisher; 5. (77) Warren Ropp, Kalona; 6. (88) Matt Blake, Cedar Rapids; 7. (66) Gary Dyer, Blue Grass; 8. (99) Dennis Diercks, Eldridge; 9. (95) al Diercks, Davenport; 10. (28) Pat Cady, Wellman; 11. (16) Mer Slabaugh, Kalona; 12. (02) Tim Fredericks, Cedar Rapids; 13. (13) Stacy Olson, Cedar Rapids; 14. (17) Sydney Henderson, Walford

MOUNTAIN DEW SPORTSMEN

HEAT 1- 1. (88) Jim Hanson 2. (35) Greg Hentrich 3. (54) CJ Van Horn 4. (7) John Johnston 5. (12) Brandon Herb 6. (88JR) Tony Olson 7. (6X) Mike Mitchell 8. (6M) Jodi Mitchell DNS- (57) Jeremy Clement

FEATURE- (20 laps) 1.(88) Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 2. (7) John Johnston, Victor; 3. (54) CJ Van Horn, Marion; 4. (6x) Mike Mitchell, Cedar Rapids; 5. (12) Brandon Herb, Marion; 6. (6M) Jodi Mitchell, Cedar Rapids; 7. (88JR) Tony Olson, Cedar Rapids; 8. (57) Jeremy Clement; DQ- (35) Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha

PERFORMANCE CONCEPTS LATE MODELS

HEAT- No Heat due to water on the track

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. (17) Brian Gibson, Walford; 2. (72) Brad Osborn, Janesville; 3. (20) Zach Less, Manchester; 4. (00) Brody Willett, Alburnett; 5. (43) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 6. (76) Chas Siems, Shellsburg; 7. (3) Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids