SEASON CHAMPS CROWNED AT HAWKEYE DOWNS

SEASON CHAMPS CROWNED AT HAWKEYE DOWNS

(Cedar Rapids, IA August 19, 2016)– The curtain came down on the 2016 Hy-Vee Racing Series at Hawkeye Downs Speedway Friday as five season champions were crowned.

Officials shuffled the itinerary a bit to ensure the racing part of the program would be completed before threatening weather moved in. That proved to be a wise decision as all of the features were run and the Lil'Racer Car Club Autograph/Trick or Treat Night was still held in the pits after the races before the rain moved in.

Feature lineups were set by an invert based on a dice roll by the point leaders.

Derek Parrott picked up his fourth win of the season in Miller Time Hornets, outrunning season points champion Dallas Chandler to the checkered flag. The race was red-flagged briefly on lap nine when a small fire erupted in the 14 car of Tom Blum.

Finishing in third behind Chandler were Drew Nickell, Lucas Foster, and Ethan Parrott.

Dallas Chandler earned season point champion honors with 6 wins to his credit this season.

Brian Gibson won back-to-back season championships in the Performance Concepts Late Model division with an exclamation mark by winning the feature in that division Friday night.

Brad Osborn, who was within striking distance of the points title heading into Friday night, led the first half of the race before Gibson powered into the lead and then outran the second place finisher Griffin McGrath to the checkered flag. It was Gibson's fifth win of the season as he broke a tie with McGrath for number of wins.

Finishing behind Gibson on the track were McGrath, Osborn, Brody Willett, and Mark Greb.

Gerald Hall won the Anderson Automotive Hobby Stock feature Friday night, which was his second trip to victory lane this season. Hall led the first lap, season point champion led the second, and Hall went back into the lead on lap three and then led a five car breakaway through the balance of the race.

Hanson did regain the lead with three laps to go as he used lapped traffic to get around Hall but caution came out shortly after and Hall got the point back. Caution waved again as the field was heading to the white flag scrambling the field again. Braxton Franks rallied to finish second followed by Jason Sherman, Hanson, and Scott Siems.

Points champion Jim Hanson had a track-high eight wins on the season.

Mark Ironside waited until the final race of the season to collect his first win of the season as he outran a very healthy filed of 19 Dublin City Pub INEX Legends to the checkered flag. The race saw the caution flag wave seven times, including once for a spin by point leader and eventual season point champion Kevin Korsmo.

Tim Brockhouse took a brief lead early in the race but Ironside took back control on the following lap and then held off challenges from Brockhouse, Brady Fox-Rhode, and Will McCulley before finally grabbing the checkers. Kevin Korsmo recovered from the earlier spin to finish in third behind Fox-Rhode with McCulley finishing fourth and Jackson Lewis scoring fifth.

Kevin Korsmo scored his second straight season championship with 3 feature wins in what has been a very competitive division all season.

Finally, in Mountain Dew Sportsmen, CJ Van Horn outran points champion Jim Hanson to claim the feature in that division. It was Van Horns' third trip to victory lane this season. He started in row two, quickly moved to the point and was never seriously challenged in the caution-free race. Finishing behind Van Horn was Hason, Greg Hentrich, John Johnston, and Brandon Herb.

Season point champion Jim Hanson earned six trips to victory lane in this division as he completed the rare fete of winning championships in two divisions during the same season. He's the first one to do that since Tim Plummer did it in 2013.

This was the final event on the schedule for the 2016 racing season.

MILLER TIME HORNETS

FEATURE (15 laps) – 1. (01) Derek Parrott, Marion; 2. (3) Dallas Chandler, Cedar Rapids (SEASON POINTS CHAMPION); 3. (87) Drew Nickell, Cedar Rapids; 4. (76) Lucas Foster, Cedar Rapids; 5. (72) Ethan Parrott, Marion; 6. (7) Rich Coulbourn, Cedar Rapids; 7. (44) Troy Scott, Cedar Rapids; 8. (47) Curt Gibbs, Cedar Rapids; 9. (6) Preston Wicham, Cedar Rapids; 10. (1A) Amanda Tatro, Cedar Rapids; 11. (14) Tom Blum, Cedar Rapids; DNS- (16) Todd Ness, Cedar Rapids

PERFORMANCE CONCEPTS LATE MODELS

FEATURE (25 laps) 1. (17) Brian Gibson, Walford (SEASON POINTS CHAMPION); 2. (64) Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids; 3. (72) Brad Osborn, Janesville; 4. (00) Brody Willett, Alburnett; 5. (71) Mark Greb, Coralville; 6. (3) Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 7. (21) Shane Morrissey, Cuba City, WI; 8. (20) Zach Less, Manchester; 9. (43) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 10. (76) Chad Siems, Shellsburg

ANDERSON AUTOMOTIVE HOBBY STOCKS

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. (88) Gerald Hall, Cedar Rapids; 2. (8) Braxton Franks, Cedar Rapids ;3. (54) Jason Sherman, Marengo; 4. (07) Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids (SEASON POINTS CHAMPION); 5. (1) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 6. (12K) Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 7. (41) Jasen Freeman, Cedar Rapids; 8. (54H) Dale Sherman, Marengo; 9. (43) Ed O'Brien, Cedar Rapids; 10. (11) Brian Bries, Norway; 11. (14J) Jacob Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 12. (2) Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids

DUBLIN CITY PUB INEX LEGENDS

FEATURE (25 laps)-1. (10) Mark Ironside, Swisher; 2. (4) Brady Fox-Rhode, Loretto, MN; 3. (52) Kevin Korsmo, Atkins (SEASON POINTS CHAMPION) 4. (26) Will McCulley. Rochester, MN; 5. (7) Jackson Lewis, Lakeville, MN; 6. (6) Austin Slabaugh, Kalona; 7. (66) Gary Dyer, Blue Grass; 8. (99) Dennis Diercks, Eldridge; 9. (25) Cole O'Brien, Cedar Rapids; 10. (16) Mer Slabaugh, Kalona; 11. (02) Tim Fredericks, Cedar Rapids; 12. (13) Stacy Olson, Cedar Rapids; 13. (8) Cole Klein, Rogers, MN; 14. (17) Sydney Henderson, Walford; 15. (28) Pat Cady, Wellman; 16. (95) Al Diercks, Davenport; 17. (13B) Tim Brockhouse, Savage, MN; 18. (77) Warren Ropp, Kalona; 19. (12) Sammy Smith, Des Moines

MOUNTAIN DEW SPORTSMEN

FEATURE- (20 laps) 1.(54) CJ Van Horn, Marion; 2. (88) Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids (SEASON POINTS CHAMPION) ; 3. (35) Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha; 4. (7) John Johnston, Victor; 5. (12)Brandon Herb, Marion; 6. (6A) Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 7. (6X) Mike Mitchell, Cedar Rapids; 8. (9) Dave Ballstaedt, Marion; 9. (6M) Jodi Mitchell, Cedar Rapids; 10. (57) Jeremy Clement, Cedar Rapids