

WILLETT, PARROTT EARN REPEAT WINS ON HAWKEYE LABOR COUNCIL NIGHT AT HAWKEYE DOWNS SPEEDWAY

(Cedar Rapids-IA)—After a week off for the independence Day Holiday, racers and fans returned to Cedar Rapids' Hawkeye Downs Speedway Friday night for Hawkeye Labor Council Night.

It was week nine in the point chase for the Hy-Vee Racing Series with all five divisions in action.

Derek Parrott backed up his win from two weeks ago in the Miller Time Hornets after starting in the last row of the scheduled 15-lap feature. Kurt Bohnsack, who has three wins this season, finished second while Todd Ness was third.

Nathan Ballard returned to victory lane in the Barron Motor Supply Hobby Stocks with a back-to-the-front run to earn his sixth win of the season. Fellow Marengo driver Jason Sherman posted a second-place run with Gerald Hall finishing third for his best finish of the season.

Brody Willett held off Mark Ironside for his second win of the season in Dublin City pub INEX Legends. The win puts him in a points lead deadlock with Kevin Korsmo heading into the stretch run of the season. Ironside finished second, while Bryce Bailey posted a solid run to finish third.

In Mountain Dew Sportsmen, Jim Hanson scored his first win of the season, finishing ahead of Nathan Ballard and Greg Hentrich. The win was the first of the season for Hanson and comes on the heels of Ballard's first win two weeks ago. Point leader Dave McCalla finished fifth.

Tim Plummer raced to his second of the season in Carpetland USA Late Models presented by Performance Concepts. Plummer outran Brad Osborn after earlier leader Brian Gibson suffered mechanical problems with just a couple laps to go. Scott Siems finished third, Logan Mitchell was fourth and Chad Siems was fifth.

Racing returns Friday, July 17 as Croell Redi-Mix presents a night of racing. The Lil'Racer Car Club will also be staging Big Wheel Races along with a special event for any kids bringing a "Power Wheels" vehicle to the track.

MILLER TIME HORNETS

HEAT 1 - 1. Dallas Chandler 2.Drew Nickell 3.Brad Chandler 4. Troy Scott 5. Lucas Foster

HEAT 2-1. Kurt Bohnsack 2. Derek Parrott 3. Brenda Meek 4. Todd Ness DNS- Dustin McGee

FEATURE (15 laps) 1. (01) Derek Parrott, Marion; 2.((4) Kurt Bohnsack, Ely; 3. (16) Todd Ness, Cedar Rapids; 4. (87) Drew Nickell, Cedar Rapids; 5. (3) Dallas Chandler, Cedar Rapids; 6. (86) Lucas Foster, Cedar Rapids; 7. (47) Brenda Meek, Ely, 8. (44) Troy Scott, Cedar Rapids; 9. (27) Dustin McGee, Cedar Rapids; DQ- Brad Chandler, Cedar Rapids

BARRON MOTOR SUPPLY HOBBY STOCKS

HEAT 1- 1. Gerald Hall 2. Nathan Ballard 3. Matt Lacoursiere 4. Matt Hudspeth 5. Brian Bries

HEAT 2-1. Jason Sherman 2. Jayson Scott 3. Scott Siems 4. Braxton Franks 5. Jasen Freeman

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. (29) Nathan Ballard, Marengo; 2. (54) Jason Sherman, Marengo; 3. (14) Gerald Hall, Cedar Rapids; 4. (3) Matt Hudspeth, Granger; 5. (9) Jayson Scott, Cedar Rapids; 6. (8) Braxton Franks, Cedar Rapids; 7. (2) Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids, 8. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 9. (41) Jasen Freeman, Cedar Rapids, 10. (11) Brian Bries, Norway

DUBLIN CITY PUB INEX LEGENDS

HEAT 1- 1.Brody Willett 2.Mark Ironside 3. Austin Slabaugh 4. Matt Blake 5. Bryce Bailey 6. Dennis Diercks 7. Gary Dyer 8. Stacy Olson

HEAT 2.- 1. Kevin Korsmo 2.Danny Lehmkuhl 3.Cole O'Brien 4. Sammy Smith 5. Warren Ropp 6. Joan Feller DNS- Al Diercks

FEATURE (25 laps) 1. (00) Brody Willett, Alburnett; 2. (10) Mark Ironside, Swisher; 3. (51) Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids; 4. (52) Kevin Korsmo, Atkins; 5. (16) Austin Slabaugh, Kalona; 6. (37) Danny Lehmkuhl, Cedar Rapids; 7. (25) Cole O'Brien, Cedar Rapids; 8. (77) Warren Ropp, Kalona; 9. (99) Dennis Diercks, Eldridge; 10. (95) Al Diercks, Bettendorf; 11. (12s) Sammy Smith, Des Moines; 12. (66) Gary Dyer, Bluegrass; 13. (13) Stacy Olson, Cedar Rapids; 14. (12f) Joan Feller, Marion; 15. (88) Matt Blake, Cedar Rapids

MOUNTAIN DEW SPORTSMEN

HEAT - 1.Jim Hanson 2.Dave McCalla 3.Greg Hentrich 4.Dave Ballstaedt 5.CJ Van Horn 6. Nathan Ballard 7. John Johnston 8. Jeremy Clement

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. (88) Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 2.(29) Nathan Ballard, Marengo; 3. (35) Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha; 4. (54) CJ Van Horn, Marion 5. (3) Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids 6.(9) Dave Ballstaedt, Marion; 7. (7) John Johnston, Victor; 8. (36) Jeremy Clement, Cedar Rapids

CARPETLAND USA LATE MODELS presented by PERFORMANCE CONCEPTS

HEAT- 1. Tim Plummer 2.Brad Osborn 3.Griffin McGrath 4. Brian Gibson 5. Scott Siems 6. Brody Willett 7. Logan Mitchell 8. Chad Siems

FEATURE (25 laps) 1. (74) Tim Plummer, Norway; 2.(72) Brad Osborn, Janesville; 3. (43) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 4. (99) Logan Mitchell, Palmyra, MO; 5.(17) Brian Gibson, Walford; 6. (64) Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids; 7. (76) Chad Siems, Shellsburg; 8. (00) Brody Willett, Alburnett