

# CHANDLER, BALLARD REPEAT WINNERS ON VAN METER NIGHT AT HAWKEYE DOWNS

(Cedar Rapids, IA Jul7 31, 2015)--- Van Meter presented their annual night at the races Friday July 31 at Cedar Rapids' Hawkeye Downs Speedway. Each year Van Meter arranges to waive the normal admission fees in lieu of a voluntary monetary donation for an organization designated by Van Meter.

This year proceeds were directed to the Cedar Rapids Firefighters Foundation to support the Safe Sleep Project.

Also in conjunction with the event each year Van Meter, Hawkeye Downs and Bulltown Legends of Iowa team up to present a Celebrity Legends Pride Race. This years 15-lap feature featured Van Meter Vice President of Distribution and Sales Support Scott Presley; KGYM Radio's Scott Unash, Forrest Saunders of KCRG-TV, and former Iowa Hawkeye and NFL Quarterback and current football analyst for BTN, Chuck Long.

The Van Meter executive kept the companies win streak alive outrunning the field through 3 cautions. Scott Unash ran a close second with Forrest Saunders running third and Chuck Long finished fourth.

In week twelve of the Hy-Vee Racing Series, Nathan Ballard racked up his ninth win of the season in Barron Motor Supply Hobby Stocks. Ballard outran Braxton Franks to the checkers in the 20-lap feature that was slowed twice by the caution flag. Gerald "Bubba" Hall finished third.

Dallas Chandler scored his fourth trip to victory lane in Miller Time Hornets taking the lead with six laps remaining of the scheduled 15-lap feature. Drew Nickell took the lead early and held off Chandler for about two-thirds of the race before surrendering the lead. Kurt Bohnsack followed Chandler around Nickell to finish second while Nickell maintained a strong third-place run to the checkered flag.

After a couple disappointing weeks Brody Willett took advantage of a favorable starting slot and simply outran the field from start to finish in Dublin City Pub INEX Legends. Last week's winner Cole O'Brien chased Willett for the first half of the race before point leader Kevin Korsmo slipped into second. Korsmo chased Willett the rest of the way with Willett holding him off through a pair of restarts. Korsmo finished second while Nelson Stewart ran an impressive third. A serious accident occurred as the Legends field took the checkered flag, which forced officials to postpone the two remaining feature events.

A car driven by Joan Feller collided with a car that had spun and stalled just as Feller came upon it in turn four. Feller was taken to a Cedar Rapids hospital and later transferred to the University of Iowa Hospitals. No condition report is available as of the time this report was written.

Racing continues next Friday night, August 7 a as Zimmerman Motors presents week thirteen of the Hy-Vee Racing Series.

#### BARRON MOTOR SUPPLY HOBBY STOCKS

HEAT - 1. Nathan Ballard 2.Braxton Franks 3. Jason Sherman 4. Gerald Hall 5. Scott Siems 6. Jayson Scott 7. Matt Lacoursiere 8. Ray Fish 9. Brian Bries

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. (29) Nathan Ballard, Marengo; 2. (8) Braxton Franks, Cedar Rapids; 3. (14) Gerald Hall, Cedar Rapids; 4. (9) Jayson Sscott, Cedar Rapids; 5. Scott Siems. Cedar Rapids; 6. (54) Jason Sherman, Marengo; 7. (2) Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 8. (53) Ray Fish, Manchester; 9. (11) Brian Bries, Norway

#### **MILLER TIME HORNETS**

HEAT 1. -1. Drew Nickell 2. Troy Scott 3.Dallas Chandler 4. Dan Schmidt 5. Rob Aimers

HEAT 2. 1. Todd Ness 2. Kurt Bohnsack 3. Brenda Meek 4. Ethan Parrott 5. Lucas Foster

FEATURE (15 laps) 1. (3) Dallas Chandler, Cedar Rapids; 2.(4) Kurt Bohnsack, Ely; 3. (87) Drew Nickell, Cedar Rapids; 4. (16) Todd Ness, Cedar Rapids; 5. (44) Troy Scott, Cedar Rapids; 6. (86) Lucas Foster, Cedar Rapids; 7. (47) Brenda Meek, Ely 8. (1A) Rob Aimers; 9. (01) Ethan Parrott, Marion; 10. (B7) Dan Schmidt, Cedar Rapids

#### **DUBLIN CITY PUB INEX LEGENDS**

HEAT 1- 1.Austin Slabaugh 2.Kevin Korsmo 3.Robbie Carter 4. Nelson Stewart 5. Kyle Diercks 6. Sammy Smith 7. Stacy Olson 8. Joan Feller

HEAT 2.- 1. Brody Willett 2.Cole O'Brien 3.Danny Lehmkuhl 4. Warren Ropp 5. Mark Ironside 6. Sydney Henderson 7. Gary Dyer DNS- Al Diercks

FEATURE (25 laps) 1. (00) Brody Willett, alburnett; 2. Kevin Korsmo, Atkins; 3. (44s) Nelson Stewart,
Avon, IN; 4. (10) Mark Ironside, Swisher; 5. (16) Austin Slabaugh, Kalona; 6. (77) Warren Ropp, Kalona;
7. (87) Robbie Carter, Burnsville, MN; 8. (37) Danny Lehmkuhl, Cedar Rapids; 9. (95) Al Diercks,
Bettendorf; 10. (66) Gary Dyer, Bluegrass 11. (12) Sammy Smith, Des Moines; 12. (13) Stacy Olson,
Cedar Rapids; 13. (12) Joan Feller, Marion; 14. (99) Kyle Diercks, Eldridge; 15. (25) Cole O'Brien, Cedar
Rapids; 16. (17) Sydney Henderson

### **MOUNTAIN DEW SPORTSMEN**

Postponed

## CARPETLAND USA LATE MODELS presented by PERFORMANCE CONCEPTS

Postponed