

# MARK IRONSIDE SCORES FIRST FEATURE WIN on 100.7 "THE FOX" NIGHT AT HAWKEYE DOWNS SPEEDWAY

(Cedar Rapids, IA)—A huge 100.7 "The Fox" Night crowd filled the Hawkeye Downs Speedway Grandstands and Bleachers Friday night and saw Mark Ironside, Brian Gibson, Dave McCalla, Nathan Ballard, and Dallas Chandler pick up feature wins. It was week seven of the Hy-Vee Racing Series.

Dallas Chandler picked up his second feature win of the season in Miller Time Hornets. Chandler started outside row four and kept his car in the outside groove to take the lead on lap four. Todd Ness posted an impressive run to finish second while Troy Scott crossed the strip in third.

Nathan Ballard now has five wins in five starts in the Baron Motor Supply Hobby Stocks after grabbing the checkers Friday night. Ballard started in eighth, went to the work on the outside and scooted into the front slot on lap three. Braxton Franks posted his best run of the season finishing second and Matt Hudspeth also showed improvement finishing in third.

Mark Ironside has come close to winning features over the past couple seasons in the Dublin City Pub INEX Legends and Friday night he put what he called a "perfect car" into Hawkeye Downs Victory Lane for his first feature win. This win was far from easy as he held off the likes of Kevin Korsmo, Brody Willett, and Kyle Diercks along with contending with several caution flags including one as the field was taking the white flag.

Ironside then held off Korsmo on the final restart to earn the very popular victory. Brody Willett finished third. The former Iowa Hawkeye wrestler got his start during a Van Meter Night Celebrity Race 3 seasons ago and had so much fun in that race that he bought a car and has been racing weekly since.

Dave McCalla continues to dominate the Mountain Dew Sportsmen division, posting victory number five on Friday night. After starting in ninth, he bolted to the outside and by lap three he found himself leading the pack. Nathan Ballard stayed within striking distance but couldn't pull close enough for a challenge as the laps ticked off, settling for second. Sportsmen veteran Bob Ahrendsen finished in third.

Finally, in Carpetland USA Late Models presented by Performance Concepts, Brian Gibson scored his first win of 2015. Brad Osborn led much of the race, but spun after contact from Tim Plummer with

nine laps remaining. Plummer "tapped out" after the incident, accepting responsibility for causing the spin and voluntarily went to the rear which allowed Osborn to retain his spot.

Three laps into the restart Brian Gibson was able to slip by Osborn with Tim Plummer rapidly closing as well. Plummer ran out of laps and ultimately settled for second while Osborn retained third. Gibson is the fourth winner in the five features run this season.

Racing resumes next Friday night, June 26 with all five divisions again in action for Iowa Donor Network Night.

#### **MILLER TIME HORNETS**

HEAT 1-1. Todd Ness 2.Derek Parrott 3.Drew Nickell 4.Brenda Meek 5.Rob Aimers

HEAT 2-1. Dallas Chandler 2.Brad Schmidt 3.Kurt Bohnsack 4.Lucas Foster 5.Troy Scott

FEATURE (15 laps) 1. (3) Dallas Chandler, Cedar Rapids; 2.(16) Todd Ness, Cedar Rapids; 3. (44) Troy Scott, Cedar Rapids; 4. (4) Kurt Bohnsack, Ely; 5. (87) Drew Nickell, Cedar Rapids; 6. (01) Derek Parrott, Marion; 7. (B7) Brad Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 8. (86) Lucas Foster, Cedar Rapids; 9. (47) Brenda Meek, Ely; 10. (1A) Rob Aimers, Cedar Rapids; 11. (27) Dustin McGee, Cedar Rapids

### **BARRON MOTOR SUPPLY HOBBY STOCKS**

HEAT- 1. Nathan Ballard 2.Jason Sherman 3. Braxton Franks 4.Matt Lacoursiere 5. Matt Hudspeth 6. Gerald Hall 7. Brian Bries 8. Jayson Scott 9. Sonny Parker

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. (29) Nathan Ballard, Marengo; 2. (8) Braxton Franks, Cedar Rapids; 3. (3) Matt Hudspeth, Granger; 4. (2) Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 5. (9) Jayson Scott, Cedar Rapids; 6. ((14) Gerald Hall, Cedar Rapids; 7. (54) Jason Sherman, Marengo; 8. (11) Brian Bries, Norway; DNS- (1) Sonny Parker, Cedar Rapids

# **DUBLIN CITY PUB INEX LEGENDS**

HEAT 1- 1.Brody Willett 2.Danny Lehmkuhl 3.Austin Slabaugh 4. Kyle Diercks 5.Nelson Stewart 6. Sammy Smith 7. Joan Feller

HEAT 2-1. Mark Ironside 2.Kevin Korsmo 3.Spencer Diercks 4.Matt Blake 5. Gary Dyer 6.Warren Ropp 7. Steve Kohli 8. Stacy Olson

FEATURE (25 laps) 1.(10) Mark Ironside, Swisher; 2. (52) Kevin Korsmo, Atkins; 3.(00) Brody Willett, Alburnett; 4. (16) Austin Slabaugh, Kalona; 5. (37) Danny Lehmkuhl, Cedar Rapids; 6. (66) Gary Dyer,

Bluegrass; 7. (44S) Nelson Stewart, Indianapolis, IN; 8. (95) Spencer Diercks, Eldridge; 9. (21) Steve Kohli, Coralville; 10. (13) Sammy Smith, Des Moines; 11. (13) Stacy Olson, Cedar Rapids; 12. (12) Joan Feller, Marion; 13. (88) Matt Blake, Cedar Rapids; 14. Kyle Diercks, Eldridge; 15(77) Warren Ropp, Kalona

## **MOUNTAIN DEW SPORTSMEN**

HEAT 1- 1.Bob Ahrendsen 2. Dave Ballstaedt 3.Dave McCalla 4.Jim Hanson 5. CJ Van Horn

HEAT 2-1. Nathan Ballard 2.Ben Glascock 3.John Johnston 4.Jeremy Clement 5. Greg Hentrich

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. (3) Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 2. (29) Nathan Ballard, Marengo; 3. (6X) Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 4. (54) CJ Van Horn, Marion; 5. (83) Ben Glascock, Indianola; 6. (35) Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha; 7. (7) John Johnston, Victor; 8. (9) Dave Ballstaedt, Marion; 9. (36) Jeremy Clement, Cedar Rapids; 10. (88) Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids

## CARPETLAND USA LATE MODELS presented by PERFORMANCE CONCEPTS

HEAT- 1. Brad Osborn 2.Tim Plummer 3.Brian Gibson 4.Scott Siems 5. Chad Siems

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. (17) Brian Gibson, Walford; 2.(74) Tim Plummer, Norway; 3.(72) Brad Osborn, Janesville; 4. (43) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 5. (76) Chad Siems, Shellsburg