

GIBSON REPEATS IN LATE MODELS WHILE BALLARD AND KORSMO EARN FIRST WINS ON IOWA DONOR NETWORK NIGHT AT HAWKEYE DOWNS

(Cedar Rapids, IA)—The rainy weather earlier in the day gave way to a gorgeous night for racing for Iowa Donor Network night at Cedar Rapids' Hawkeye Downs Speedway. It was week eight of the Hy-Vee Racing Series.

Special guests of the Iowa Donor Network were treated to some great racing while drivers battled for extra purse and contingency awards in all divisions. NASCAR Xfinity Series Driver and Hawkeye Downs alum was also in the house in support of the Iowa Donor Network and also to race his late model.

In Miller Time Hornets, Derek Parrott picked up his first win of 2015 and also was the first feature winner not named Chandler or Bohnsack in the division this season. Parrott started inside row two, had the point by lap two and then outlasted Dallas Chandler to secure the win. Chandler started shotgun on the field and steadily worked through the pack but ran out of laps to draw closer than a couple car lengths at the checkers.

Drew Nickell posted an impressive run finishing third while Kurt Bohnsack and Troy Scott also finished in the top five.

Nathan Ballard saw his win streak in Barron Motor Supply Hobby Stocks apparently come to an end Friday night. While he crossed the flagstand in first place in dominating fashion once again, tech officials ruled he had non-comforming parts on the car during post-race inspection. That bumped Matt Hudspeth into the first slot with Jayson Scott scored second, and Gerald Hall, another new driver to Hawkeye Downs, third.

The Dublin City Pub INEX Legends feature saw Kevin Korsmo pick up his first win of 2015 after taking the lead on lap six, outrunning last weeks' winner Mark Ironside and previous winner Brody Willett, and surviving a late restart caused by an oil fire in the #95 Al Diercks machine. Willett recovered from an early spin to finish second while the aforementioned ironside was third. Korsmo started the 25-lap feature outside the third row.

Nathan Ballard, one of a handful of drivers that compete in more than one division, scored his first win in Mountain Dew Sportsmen Friday night. Ballard started inside row two, bolted into the lead and was never seriously challenged in collecting the win. His closest pursuer was CJ Van Horn

with defending champion Dave McCalla running third. Ballard's win stopped McCalla's five race win streak.

The finale of the evening proved to be the best race as the CarpetlandUSA Late Models presented by Performance Concepts battled on the half-mile. Brad Osborn and last weeks' winner Brian Gibson swapped the lead back and forth over the first ten laps with Tim Plummer moving into the picture by lap eleven. Plummer challenged for the lead multiple times over the next few laps but lost the handle trying an inside move with eight laps to go.

Osborn continued to lead on the restart but with six laps remaining Gibson moved to challenge for the point bringing Joey Gase with him. Gibson secured the lead with three laps remaining while Gase fought to take second away from Osborn. That battle allowed Gibson to pull away to collect his second straight win. Osborn prevailed for the second slot with Gase having to settle for third. Plummer recovered from the earlier spin to finish fourth and Brian Allen finished fifth.

After taking July 3rd off to allow drivers to spend the holiday weekend with their families, racing return Friday night July 10 for Hawkeye Labor Council Night along with the Lil'Racer Car Club "World's Largest Candy Dash on an Asphalt Track."

MILLER TIME HORNETS

HEAT - 1. Dallas Chandler 2.Derek Parrott 3.Kurt Bohnsack 4.Brad Schmidt 5.Drew Nickell 6.Brenda Meek 7. Troy Scott 8. Lucas Foster DNS-Dustin McGee

FEATURE (15 laps) 1. (01) Derek Parrott, Marion; 2.(3) Dallas Chandler, Cedar Rapids; 3. (87) Drew nickell, Cedar Rapids; 4. (4) Kurt Bohnsack, Ely; 5. (44) Troy Scott, Cedar Rapids; 6. (47) Brenda Meek, Ely; 7. (86) Lucas Foster, Cedar Rapids; 8. (B7) Brad Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 9. (27) Dustin McGee

BARRON MOTOR SUPPLY HOBBY STOCKS

HEAT 1-1. Jason Sherman 2. Matt Hudspeth 3. Gerald Hall 4.Scott Siems 5. Brian Bries

HEAT 2-1. Nathan Ballard 2. Jayson Scott 3. Matt Lacoursiere 4. Braxton franks 5. Ray Fish

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. (3) Matt Hudspeth, Granger (provisional winner) ; 2. (9) Jayson Scott, Cedar Rapids; 3. (14) Gerald Hall, Cedar Rapids; 4. (2) Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 5. (54) Jason Sherman, Marengo; 6. Braxton Franks, Cedar Rapids; 7. (1) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 8. (11) Brian Bries, Norway; 9 (53) Ray Fish DQ-Nathan Ballard, Marengo

DUBLIN CITY PUB INEX LEGENDS

HEAT 1- 1.Brody Willett 2.Matt Blake 3. Austin Slabaugh 4. Michael Weber 5. Nelson Stewart 6. Stacy Olson 7. Joan Feller DNS- Al Diercks

HEAT 2.- 1. Mark Ironside 2. Kevin Korsmo 3. Dennis Diercks 4. Mark Greb 5. Warren Ropp 6. Gary Dyer 7. Cole O'Brien

FEATURE (25 laps) 1.((52) Kevin Korsmo, Atkins; 2. (00) Brody Willett, Alburnett; 3. (10 Mark Ironside, Swisher 4. (16) Austin Slabaugh, Kalona; 5. (77) Warren Ropp, Kalona; 6. (25) Cole O'Brien, Cedar Rapids; 7. (71) Mark Greb, Coralville; 8. (99) Dennis Diercks, Eldridge; 9. (44s) Nelson Stewart, Indianapolis, IN; 10. (66) Gary Dyer, Bluegrass, IA; 11. (13) Stacy Olson, Cedar Rapids; 12. (12F) Joan Feller, Marion; 13. (95) Al Diercks, Bettendorf; 14. (88) Matt Blake, Cedar Rapids; DQ- (37) Michael Weber

MOUNTAIN DEW SPORTSMEN

HEAT 1-1.CJ Van Horn 2. Dave McCalla 3. Dave Ballstaedt 4. Greg Hentrich 5. Bob Ahrendsen

HEAT 2-1. Nathan Ballard 2. Jim Hanson 3. Tom Burke 4. Jeremy Clement DNS- John Johnston

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. (29) Nathan Ballard, Marengo; 2. (54) CJ Van Horn, Marion; 3. (3) Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 4. (35) Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha; 6. (9) Dave Ballstaedt, Marion; 7. (5) Tom Burke, Nevada; 8. (6x) Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 9. (7) John Johnston, Victor; 10. (36) Jeremy Clement, Cedar Rapids

CARPETLAND USA LATE MODELS presented by PERFORMANCE CONCEPTS

HEAT- 1. Brian Gibson 2. Brad Osborn 3. Tim Plummer 4. Brian Allen 5. Joey Gase 6. Scott Siems 7. Chad Siems 8. Brody Willett

FEATURE (25 laps) 1. (17) Brian Gibson, Walford; 2.(72) Brad Osborn, Janesville 3.(35) Joey Gase, Cedar Rapids; 4. (74) Tim Plummer 5. (52) Brian Allen, Hiawatha; 6. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 7. (76) Chad Siems, Shellsburg; 8. (00) Brody Willett, Alburnett