

June 6, 2015

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

For more information, contact:

Brad Grupe

319-331-7377

CALEB ADRIAN TOPS 24-CAR FIELD IN "LIZ GIRL LOGISTICS CLASH" ON hibu NIGHT AT THE RACES AT HAWKEYE DOWNS

(Cedar Rapids, IA)—After chasing LaCrosse Speedway competitor J Herbst for much of the race, Hawkeye Downs Speedway weekly driver Caleb Adrian slipped into the lead on a late restart to win the 48-lap 'Liz Girl's Clash at the Downs presented by Miller Lite, featuring the Big 8 Series Late Models. Once in the lead, Adrian pulled away from the pack posting a nearly three and a half second margin over Herbst. Rockford Speedway's Michael Bilderback finished third, Hawkeye Downs ' Brian Gibson was fourth, and Rockford's Jon Reynolds, Jr., was fifth.

The first twenty circuits around the Hawkeye Downs half-mile were relatively trouble free but the last 28 laps proved to be troublesome with at least seven cautions slowing the action. Four of those saw several cars, including the #64 Griffin McGrath machine, receive substantial damage. NASCAR XFINITY Series driver and former Hawkeye Downs weekly racer Joey Gase received damage also after being punted into the turn three wall on the final lap.

Thirty Big 8 Series Late Models signed in with twenty-four making the feature through qualifying, heat races, fast dashes, and a last chance race. This is the largest field of Late Models to race at Hawkeye Downs in a number of years.

Complete results for the 'Liz Girl Clash at the 'Downs can be found at Big8series.com.

The weekly warriors of the Hy-Vee Racing Series were also in action on hibu Night at the Races.

In Miller Time Hornets, Kurt Bohnsack wrestled the lead from Derek Parrott on the white-flag lap to earn his third trip to victory lane this season. Parrott finished second in his first outing of the season while Dallas Chandler finished third.

Nathan Ballard scored yet another feature win Friday night in Barron Motor Supply Hobby Stocks. Ballard is four for four this season scoring a clean sweep of feature wins. Ballard came from the back of the back taking the lead on lap two and was never challenged as he sailed to the win. Jason Sherman crossed the stripe in second and Jayson Scott was third.

Brody Willett picked up his second career Dublin City Pub INEX Legends feature win Friday night, holding off Kevin Korsmo over the final five laps for the win. Todd Ness and Matt Blake led in the early going before Willett used a high line to maneuver into position to take the lead. After picking up a heat win earlier in the evening, Mark Ironside finished third behind Korsmo.

Finally, Dave McCalla matched Nathan Ballards' earlier fete by also posting his fourth win in four starts in Mountain Dew Sportsmen. MCalla snagged the point 6 laps in after a couple early caustions kept the field tightly bunched. Jim Hanson finished second and Ben Glasock was third.

Week six of the Hy-Vee Racing Rolls out of the gate next Friday night, June 12 for Van Meter Night at the Races.

LIZ GIRL CLASH for BIG 8 SERIES LATE MODELS

<u>FEATURE (48 laps)</u> 1. Caleb Adrian, Walcott, IA; 2. J Herbst, West Salem, WI; 3.Michael Bilderback, South Beloit, IL; 4. Brian Gibson, Walford, IA; 5. Jon Reynolds, JR., Rockford, IL; 6. Brad Osborn, Janesville, IA; 7. Bobby Wilberg, Beloit, WI; 8. Lyle Nowack, Wausau, WI; 9. Cole Anderson, Northfield, MN; 10. Eric Connell, Ft. Atkinson, WI; 11. Michael Ostdiek, Lakeville, MN; 12. Austin Nasen, Roscoe, IL; 13. Wayne Freimund, Elkhorn, WI; 14. Rich Schumann, JR., Portage, WI 15. Michael Clapper, Dane, WI; 16. Chad Siems, Shellsburg, IA; 17. Adam Peschek, Oconomowoc, WI; 18. Joey Gase, Cedar Rapids, IA; 19. Dave Edwards, Salem, WI; 20. Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids, IA; 21. Adam Bendzick, Elko, MN; 22. Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, IA; 23. Brian Allen, Hiawatha, IA; 24. Collin Olson, Maplewood, MN

MILLER TIME HORNETS

HEAT 1-1. Kurt Bohnsack 2. Lucas Foster 3. Todd Ness 4. Steve Miedtke 5. Brenda Meek

HEAT 2-1. Dallas Chandler 2.Brad Schmidt 3.Derek Parrott 4.Troy Scott 5.Drew Nickell

FEATURE (15 laps) 1. Kurt Bohnsack, Ely; 2. Derek Parrott, Marion; 3. Dallas Chandler, Cedar Rapids; 4. Todd Ness, Cedar Rapids; 5. Drew Nickell, Cedar Rapids; 6. Troy Scott, Cedar Rapids; 7. Lucas Foster, Cedar Rapids; 8. Steve Miedtke, Cedar Rapids; 9. Brenda Meek, Ely; 10. Rob Aimers, Cedar Rapids; 11. Brad Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 12. Dustin McGee, Cedar Rapids

BARRON MOTOR SUPPLY HOBBY STOCKS

HEAT- 1. Nathan Ballard 2.Jayson Scott 3. Matt Hudspeth 4. Jason Sherman 5. Matt Lacoursiere 6. Sonny Parker 7. Brian Bries 8. Braxton Franks

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Nathan Ballard, Marengo; 2. Jason Sherman, Marengo; 3. Jayson scott, Cedar Rapids; 4. Sonny Parker, Cedar Rapids; 5. Brian Bries, Norway; 6. Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 7. Matt Hudspeth, Grainger; 8. Braxton Franks, Cedar Rapids

DUBLIN CITY PUB INEX LEGENDS

HEAT 1- 1. Matt Blake 2.Kevin Korsmo 3.Spencer Diercks 4.Cole O'Brien 5.Matt Ostdiek 6. Gary Dyer 7.Sammy Smith 8.Joan Feller

HEAT 2-1. Mark Ironside 2.Danny Lehmkuhl 3.Brody Willett 4.Dennis Diercks 5.Austin Slabaugh 6. Stacy Olson DNS-Steve Kohli

FEATURE (25 laps) 1. Brody Willett, Alburnett; 2. Kevin Korsmo, Atkins; 3. Mark Ironside, Swisher; 4. Cole O'Brien, Cedar Rapids; 5. Spencer Diercks, Eldridge; 6. Matt Blake, Cedar Rapids; 7. Matt Ostdiek, Lakeville, MN; 8. Austin Slabaugh, Kalona; 9. Danny Lehmkuhl, Cedar Rapids; 10. Dennis Diercks, Eldridge; 11. Gary Dyer, Bluegrass; 12. Sammy Smith, Des Moines; 13. Stacy Olson, Cedar Rapids; 14. Joan Feller, Marion; DNS- Steve Kohli, Coralville

MOUNTAIN DEW SPORTSMEN

HEAT 1-1.Dave McCalla 2.Bob Ahrendsen 3.Greg Hentrich 4.John Johnston 5. C.J. Van Horn

HEAT 2-1. Dave Ballstaedt 2.Nathan Ballard 3.Jim Hanson 4.Ben Glascock 5. Tom Burke

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 2. Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 3. Ben Glascock, Indianola; 4. Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha; 5. Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 6. CJ Van Horn, Marion; 7. Tom Burke, Nevada; 8. John Johnston, Victor; 9. Dave Ballstaedt, Marion; 10. Nathan Ballard, Marengo