FOX-RHODE NABS THIRD STRAIGHT FEATURE AND \$1000 PAYDAY IN WINNING THE "RACE FOR A CAUSE" AT HAWKEYE DOWNS

(Cedar Rapids, IA 5/22/2015)—Brady Fox-Rhode was one of three drivers who picked up their third win of the 2015 season as he scored the top position in the Dublin City Pub INEX Legends feature on Corridor Motors Night.

The win also carried a \$1000 prize and in addition to being a INEX Regional Qualifier event it was also the "Race for a Cause" to raise funds and awareness for the Concerns of Police Survivors-C.O.P.S Program. C.O.P.S provides support of all types to survivors of men and women killed in the line of duty while serving their communities.

The 30-lap feature used a draw-redraw format and Fox-Rhode drew the pole for the event. While the feature was plagued with cautions early there was plenty of tight racing action throughout the race. Kevin Korsmo chased Fox-Rhode for the entire race but other than holding a brief lead during one restart he had to settle for second-place after starting inside row two. Tim Goettsch finished third after starting in the fifth row.

In other Hy-Vee Racing Series action, Nathan Ballard picked up his third straight win in the Barron Motor Supply Hobby Stocks, out-running fellow Marengo driver Jason Sherman. Ballard started dead last but only needed two laps to grab the point before cruising to the win. Jayson Scott finished in third behind Sherman.

The third driver of the night to score their third win of the young season was Dave McCalla in Mountain Dew Sportsmen. While Greg Hentrich led the first three circuits of the quarter-mile, McCalla used his preferred way around the track-the high groove- to pull alonside the leader on lap four, taking the lead for good on lap seven. Hentrich stayed within striking distance but McCalla prevailed in relatively easy fashion. Bob Ahrendsen, also using the high side of the track, finished third after slipping around jim Hanson late in the race.

The Miller Time Hornets feature saw multiple caution flags in the first few laps. Drew Nickell was the early leader but suffered a tire issue on a restart putting Todd Ness on point. Ness' lead was short-lived as eventual winner Kurt Bohnsack wrestled the lead away on lap five to claim his second victory of the season. Ness held onto second until four laps to go when Dallas Chandler scooted by and set sail for the leader. Chandler was glued to the rear bumper of Bohnsack over the final three trips around the quarter but couldn't find a a way around and settled for second. Todd Ness held off Brad Chandler for third.

The Carpetland USA Late Models-presented by Performance Concepts saw Griffin McGrath jump into the lead at the drop of the green flag and he was never challenged the rest of the way, even through a

restart. Last weeks' winner, Caleb Adrian, was his closest pursuer but Adrian couldn't draw closer than three car lengths. Tim Plummer finished third. The win was the first of the season for McGrath.

HAWKEYE DOWNS SPEEDWAY

HYVEE RACING SERIES-Week 3

May 22, 2015

Corridor Motors Night-INEX Legends Race for a Cause

BARRON MOTOR SUPPLY HOBBY STOCKS

<u>HEAT-</u> 1. (29) Nathan Ballard, Marengo; 2. (54) Jason Sherman, Marengo; 3. (9) Jayson Scott, Cedar Rapids; 4. (2) Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 5. (3) Matt Hudspeth, Granger; 6. (1) Sonny Parker, Cedar Rapids; 7. (11) Brian Bries, Norway; 8. (8) Braxton franks, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Ballard 2. Sherman 3.Scott 4. Franks 5. Lacoursiere 6.Bries 7. Hudspeth DNS- Parker

MOUNTAIN DEW SPORTSMEN

<u>HEAT-</u> 1. (3) Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 2. (88) Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 3. (7) John Johnston, Victor; 4. (9) Dave Ballstaedt, Marion; 5. (6x) Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 6. (54) CJ Van Horn, Marion; 7. (35) Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha

FEATURE- (20 laps) 1. McCalla 2.Hentrich 3.Ahrendsen 4.Hanson 5. Van Horn 6. Ballstaedt 7. Johnston

MILLER TIME HORNETS

<u>HEAT 1-</u> 1. (8R) Brad Chandler, Vinton; 2. (4) Kurt Bohnsack, Ely; 3. (87) Drew Nickell, Cedar Rapids; 4. (1A) Rob Aimers, Cedar Rapids; 5. (86) Lucas Foster, Cedar Rapids; DNS- (44) Troy Scott, Cedar Rapids

<u>HEAT 2-</u> 1. (3) Dallas Chandler, Cedar Rapids; 2. (B7) Brad Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 3. (16) Todd Ness, Cedar Rapids; 4. (11) Steve Miedtke, Cedar Rapids; 5. (47) Brenda Meeks, Ely

<u>FEATURE (15 laps)</u> 1. Bohnsack 2.Dallas Chandler 3.Ness 4. Brad Chandler 5. Schmidt 6. Foster 7. Meeks 8. Miedtke 9. Nickell 10. Scott 11. Aimers

DUBLIN CITY PUB INEX LEGENDS

<u>HEAT 1-</u>1. (01) Tim Goettsch, Bettendorf; 2. (51) Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids; 3. (87) Robbie Carter, Burnsville, MN; 4. (71) Mark Greb, Coralville; 5. (71L) Derek Lemke, Shakopee, MN; 6. (95) Spencer Diercks, Davenport; 7. (44S) Nelson Stewart, Indianspolis, IN; 8. (12) Sammy Smith, Des Moines

<u>HEAT 2-</u>1. (25) Cole O'Brien, Cedar Rapids; 2. (88) Matt Blake, Cedar Rapids; 3. (10) Mark Ironside, Swisher; 4. (00) Brody Willett, Alburnett; 5. (99) Dennis Diercks, Eldridge; 6. (21) Steve Kohli, Coralville; 7. (13) Stacy Olson, Cedar Rapids

<u>HEAT 3-</u> 1. (4) Brady Fox-Rhode, Loretto, MN; 2. (52) Kevin Korsmo, Atkins; 3. (13B) Tim Brockhouse, Shakopee, MN; 4. (37) Danny Lehmkuhl, Cedar Rapids; 5. (16) Austin Slabaugh, Kalona; 6. (66) Gary Dyer, Bluegrass; 7. (12) Joan Feller, Marion

<u>FEATURE (30 laps)</u> 1. Fox-Rhode 2. Korsmo 3. Goettsch 4. Willett 5. Carter 6. Lemke 7. Brockhouse 8. Blake 9. Lehmkuhl 10. Spencer Diercks; 11. O'Brien 12. Ironside 13. Greb 14. Al Diercks 15. Stewart 16, Dyer 17. Slabaugh 18. Bailey 19. Smith 20. Olson 21. Kohli 22. Feller 23. Dennis Diercks

CARPETLAND USA MATE MODELS presented by Performance Concepts

<u>HEAT 1.</u> 1. (17) Brian Gibson, Walford; 2. (72) Brad Osborn, Janesville; 3. (43) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 4. (76) Chad Siems, Shellsburg; 5. (99) Iogan Mitchell, Palmyra, MO

<u>HEAT 2-</u> 1. (64) Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids; 2. (74) Tim Plummer, Norway; 3. (29) Caleb Adrian, Davenport; 4. (52) Brian Allen, Hiawatha; 5. (53) Jared Duda, St. Michael, MN;

FEATURE (25 laps)

1. McGrath 2. Adrian 3.Plummer 4. Osborn 5. Gibson 6. Allen 7. Scott Siems 8. Chad Siems 9. Mitchell 10. Duda