

(May 7, 2016)- Hawkeye Downs Speedway roared to life Saturday afternoon kicking off the 91st season of racing at the Cedar Rapids track.

All five divisions of the Hy-Vee Racing Series were in action for the Lil' Racer Car Club "Frank O'Meara Courage Award" Afternoon at the 'Downs.

Norway Hobby Stock Driver Brian Bries was presented with the Frank O'Meara Courage Award by Mitch Swinton, founder of the Lil Racer Car Club which operates at Hawkeye Downs and other area tracks.

On the track, After drawing the pole position, Dallas Chandler wasted no time in picking up his first Miller Time Hornets feature win of the season. He bolted to an early lead and easily outran the field to secure the win. Drew Nickell posted an impressive second place run, finishing ahead of Todd Ness.

In Hawkeye Downs Hobby Stocks, Jim Hanson put his 07 machine in victory lane after taking the lead from Brandon Herb on lap three. Hanson powered away from the pack while Braxton Franks, Jason Sherman, and Gerald Hall battled behind. Finishing behind Hanson was Franks, followed by Hall, Sherman, and Herb.

Last years' season champion, Kevin Korsmo, drew the pole for the Dublin City Pub INEX Legends feature and led a three car breakaway through lapped traffic and to the checkered flag. Finishing behind Korsmo were Cole O'Brien and Brody Willett. Austin Slabaugh and Sammy Smith filled out the top of the running order.

The Mountain Dew Sportsmen feature saw Jim Hanson earn his second feature of the day after three other cars held brief leads in the first five laps. Nathan Borchardt led the first trip around the quarter-mile but caution slowed the action at the start of lap two.

When racing resumed, Dave Ballstaedt grabbed the lead only to surrender it to Tom Burke on the following lap. Hanson nabbed the point one lap later and never was challenged the rest of the way. CJ Van Horn and Tom Burke had a good late battle for the second slot with Van Horn prevailing. Burke finished third with Greg Hentrich and Ballstaedt filling out the order.

Brian Gibson earned a well-deserved victory in the Performance Concepts Late Model feature after taking the lead from Michael Ostdiek on lap 12. Gibson found the outside groove to his liking to execute what would be the winning pass.

Ostdiek spun swhortly after Gibson's pass bringing out the caution and bunching the field. Once racing resumed Ostdiek moved back through the field and he rallied for a second place finish. Nick Beaver held off Brad Osborn for third with Mike Ehde finishing fifth.

Racing returns to the normal 7:30pm Friday night slot May 13th.

# **HOBBY STOCKS**

HEAT 1- 1. (07) Jim Hanson 2.(54)Jason Sherman 3.(88)Gerald Hall 4.(8)Braxon Fanks 5.(1)Scott Siems 6. (41)Jasen Freeman DNS- (3) Matt Hudspeth

HEAT 2- 1. (12) Brandon Herb 2.(43) Ed O'Brien 3.(12k) Kandi Floyd 4.(2)Matt Lacoursiere 5.(11) Brian Bries 6. (54H) Dale Sherman DNS-(14J) Jacob Floyd

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. (07)Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 2.(8) Braxton Franks, Cedar Rapids; 3. (88) Gerald Hall, Cedar Rapids; 4. (54) Jason Sherman, Marengo; 5. (12) Brandon Herb, Marion 6.(12k) Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 7.(3) Matt Hudspeth, Granger; 8. (43) Ed O'Brien, Cedar Rapids; 9. (2) Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 10. (41) Jasen Freeman, Cedar Rapids; 11. (11) Brian Bries, Norway; 12. (1) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 13. (14j) Jacob Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 14. (54H) Dale Sherman, Marengo

#### MILLER TIME HORNETS

HEAT 1. (72)Derek Parrott 2. (44)Troy Scott 3.(16)Todd Ness 4. (3) Dallas Chandler 5.(87) Drew Nickell 6.(9) James Montgomery 7.(1A) Logan Foye 8.(7) Rich Coulbourn

FEATURE (15 laps) 1.(3) Dallas Chandler, Cedar Rapids; 2.(87) Drew Nickell, Cedar Rapids; 3.(16) Todd Ness, Cedar Rapids; 4. (44) Troy Scott, Cedar Rapids; 5. (72) Derek Parrott, Marion; 6.(1A) Logan Foye, Marion; 7. (7) Rich Coulbourn, Cedar Rapids; 8. (9) James Montgomery, Cedar Rapids

# **DUBLIN CITY PUB INEX LEGENDS**

HEAT 1- 1. (52) Kevin Korsmo 2.(00) Brody Willett 3.(87) Robbie Carter 4.(77) Warren Ropp 5. (13) Stacy Olson DNS- Matt Hudspeth

HEAT 2-1. (25) Cole O'Brien 2.(6) Austin Slabaugh 3.(12) Sammy Smith 4.(88) Matt Blake 5. (66) Gary Dyer 6. (16) Mer Slabaugh 7. (17) Sydney Henderson

FEATURE (25 laps) 1. (52) Kevin Korsmo, Atkins; 2.(25) Cole O'Brien, Cedar Rapids; 3.(00) Brody Willett, Alburnett; 4.(6) Austin Slabaugh, Kalona; 5.(12) Sammy Smith, Des Moines; 6. (88) Matt Blake, Cedar Rapids; 7.(77) Warren Ropp, Kalona; 8.(87) Robbie Carter, Burnsville, MN; 9. (16) Mer Slabaugh, Kalona; 10.(95) Al Diercks, Davenport; 11.(66) Gary Dyer, Blugrass; 12.(3) Matt Hudspeth, Granger; 13.(13) Stacy Olson, Cedar Rapids; 14.(17) Sydney Henderson, Walford

# MOUNTAIN DEW SPORTSMEN

HEAT- 1. (88) Jim Hanson 2.(5) Tom Burke 3.(35) Gerg Hentrich 4.(9) Dave Ballsteadt 5.(54) C.J. VanHorn 6. (6x) Jody Mitchell 7. (57) Jeremy Clement 8.(4) Nathan Borchardt

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. (88) Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 2.(54) C.J. VanHorn, Marengo; 3.(5) Tom Burke, Nevada; 4. (35) Greg Henrich, Hiawatha; 5.(9) Dave Ballsteadt, Marion; 6.(4) Nathan Borchardt, Prior Lake, MN; 7.(57) Jeremy Clement, Cedar Rapids; 8.(6x) Jody Mitchell, Cedar Rapids

# PERFORMANCE CONCEPTS LATE MODELS

HEAT 1 - 1.(72 Brad Osborn 2.(3) Dave McCalla 3. (4) Doug Brown 4.(00)Brody Willett DNS- (20)Zach Less

HEAT 2-1. (180) Michael Ostdiek 2.(17) Brian Gibson 3.(18E) Mike Ehde 4.(10) Nick Beaver 5. (53) Jared Duda

FEATURE (25 laps) 1. (17) Brian Gibson, Walford; 2. (180) Michael Ostdiek, Lakeville, MN; 3.(10) Nick Beaver, Rosemont, MN; 4.(00) Brody Willett, Alburnett; 5.(18E) Mike Ehde, Prairie du Chien, WI; 6. (72) Brad Osborn, Janesville; 7. (4) Doug Brown, Prior Lake, MN; 8. (43) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 9.(3) Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 10. (53) Jared Duda, St. Michael, MN; 11. (76) Chad Siems, Shellsburg DNS- (20)Zach Less, Manchester