GREEN FLAG FALLS ON 90th SEASON OF RACING AT HAWKEYE DOWNS SPEEDWAY

(May 8 2015)- Erger Construction presented an entertaining opening night of racing as the 90th season of racing at Cedar Rapids' Hawkeye Downs Speedway got underway Friday night.

The first HyVee Racing Series event of the season was a draw-redraw format and the draw was kind to some defending season champions. Next week, May 15, the lineups will be set by inverting the feature finishes from Friday night with the two-week feature point average taking effect on week three.

The new "tap-out" rule came into play twice Friday night. A driver can claim responsibility for an incident and elect to voluntarily go to the rear and allow a car that he or she may have spun to retain their position rather than also being penalized to the back of the pack.

Defending season champion Kurt Bohnsack drew the point for the Miller Time Hornets feature and he easily bested the field to collect the checkers.

The best battle on the track came with under five laps remaining as Dallas Chandler and Todd Ness battled for second. Ness prevailed to finish second while Chandler was third.

The draw was kind to defending Barron Motor Supply Hobby Stock champion Nathan Ballard as well. Ballard skated to the checkered flag with Jason Sherman his closest pursuer. Matt Lacoursiere finished third after holding the number two slot in the early laps of the race.

The Mountain Dew Sportsman feature got off to a rough start with the caution flag slowing action twice in the first two laps. Bob Ahrendsen held the point for the first half of the race before last year's champion, Dave McCalla, slipped by to grab the point. Ben Glascock posted a strong third place run.

Moving to the half-mile. The Carpetland USA Late Models presented by Performance Concepts put on a great show and saw the first instance of the tap-out rule. While Brian Gibson led the first half of the race and then some, a great battle shaped up as Griffin McGrath and Tim Plummer joined the fray. Contact sent the front-runners and a couple other cars behind spinning.

Tim Plummer exercised the tap-out rules allowing Brian Gibson to retain the lead on the restart. After the restart, Plummer show through the field as Gibson faltered a bit and with seven laps to go Plummer grabbed the point and cruised to the win. Brad Osborn finished second and Gibson was third.

A 17-car Dublin City Pub INEX Legends feature capped off the night. The field included Nelson Stewart, father of NASCAR's Tony Stewart. Stewart visited Hawkeye Downs in 2014 as well and on this night he would also exercise the tap-out rule as he deemed himself responsible for a lap nine caution. Brody Willett led much of the race but faced heavy pressure from Brady Fox Rhode and also Kevin Korsmo. Fox Rhode powered into the lead with nine laps remaining. Willett was able to hold off Korsmo to take second. Tim Goettsch and Mark Ironside waged a spirited battle for fourth as well with Goettsch outlasting Ironside for the fourth slot.

Racing resumes next week with all five classes in action. The Dodge Street Tire Lil' Racer Car Club will have "Kids Riding in Race Cars" before the races and its "Kids with Cancer-Their night at the track." Griffin Tauke of North Liberty will be the special guest of the club.

HAWKEYE DOWNS SPEEDWAY HY-VEE RACING SERIES

Erger Construction Night

May 8, 2015

DUBLIN CITY PUB INEX LEGENDS

HEAT 1- 1. (10) Mark Ironside, Swisher; 2. (71) Mark Greb, Coralville; 3.(00) Brody Willett, Alburnett; 4. (25) Cole O'Brien, Cedar Rapids; 5. (44s) Nelson Stewart, Indianapolis, IN; 6. (66) Gary Dyer, Bluegrass; 7. (12) Sammy Smith; 8. (13) Stacy Olson, Cedar Rapids; DNS-Al Diercks

HEAT 2.- 1. (b52) Kevin Lorsmo, Atkins; 2.(01) Tim Goettsch, Bettendorf; 3. (4) Brady Fox Rhode, Loretto, MN; 5. (99) Dennis Diercks, Eldridge; 6. (16) Austin Slabaugh, Kalona; 7.(51) Bryce bailey, Cedar Rapids; 8. (12) Joan Feller

(FEATURE (25 laps) 1. Fox-Rhode 2. Willett 3.Korsmo 4. Goettsch 5. Ironside 6. O'Brien 7. Al Diercks 8. Dennis Diercks 9. Ropp 10. Stewart 11. Slabaugh 12. Smith 13. Dyer 14. Olson 15. Feller 16. Bailey 17. Greb

MILLER TIME HORNETS

HEAT 1- 1. (4)Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City; 2. (B7) Brad Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 3. (87) Drew Nickell, Cedar Rapids; 4. James Roose; DNS- (27) Dusin McGee, (44) Troy Scott

HEAT 2- 1. (16) Todd Ness, Cedar Rapids; 2. (3) Dallas Chandler, Cedar Rapids; 3. (47) Brenda Meek; 4. (88c) Daniel Campbell; DNS-(1A) Rod Aimers. (86) Lucas Foster

FEATURE (15 laps) 1. Bohnsack 2. Ness 3. Chandler 4. Schmidt 5. Nickell 6. Meek 7. Roose 8. McGee 9. Aimers 10. Campbell DNS- Scott, Foster

BARRON MOTOR SUPPLY HOBBY STOCKS

HEAT 1- 1. (29) Nathan Ballard, Marengo; 2. (2) Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 3. (9) Jason Scott, Cedar Rapids; 4. (54) Jason Sherman, Marengo; 5. (1) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids, 6. (8) Braxton Franks, Cedar Rapids; 7. (11) Brian Bries, Norway

FEATURE (15 laps) 1. Ballard 2. Sherman 3. Lacoursiere 4. Siems 5. Franks 6. Scott 7. Bries

MOUNTAIN DEW SPORTSMEN

HEAT 1- 1. (6x) Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 2. (35) Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha; 3. (36) Jeremy Clement, Cedar Rapids; DNS- (9) Dave Ballstaedt, (7) John Johnston

HEAT 2- 1. (3) Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 2. (5) Tom Burke, Ames; 3. (83) Ben Glascock, Indianola; 4. (54) CJ Van Horn, Cedar Rapids; 5. (88) Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. McCalla 2. Ahrendsen 3. Glascock 4. Ballstaedt 5. Hanson 6. Burke 7. Van Horn 8. Clement 9. Hentrich 10. Johnston

CARPETLAND USA LATE MODELS Presented by Performance Concepts

HEAT- 1. (74) Tim Plummer, Norway; 2. (72) Brad Osborn, Janesville; 3. (17) Brian Gibson, Walford; 4. (64) Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids; 5. (29) Caleb Adrian, Davenport; 6. (43) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 7. (76) Chad Siems, Shellsburg; 8. (52) Brian Allen, Hiawatha

FEATURE(25 laps) 1 . Plummer 2. Osborn 3. Gibson 4. Scott Siems 5. Chad Siems 6. Allen 7. McGrath 8. Adrian